Fordham University            The Jesuit University of New York
 



M.S.W. Student Life


Our diverse M.S.W. student body forms a passionate community across all the campuses of the Graduate School of Social Service.  We offer many opportunities to engage with your fellow students, faculty and administrators, exchange ideas and become an agent of change in your own life.


STUDENT CONGRESS

Members of GSS - administrators, faculty members and students - have a right to participate in decisions that affect the school community.  Joining the Student Congress is one of the key ways you can collaborate in the school's administration.

The Congress also offers you an opportunity to network with other students.  Sharing ideas and solving community problems enriches your social work education.

The Lincoln Center and Westchester campuses each have their own Student Congress.  Meetings begin in September and are held throughout the academic year. 

For more information email
gssstudentcongress@fordham.edu or one of the contacts below.


  • Faculty Advisor
Laura Wernick         
lwernick@fordham.edu
  • Social Work Program Chair
Diandra Cano
dcano@fordham.edu
  • Social Work Program Co-Chair
Jamie Fialkoff
jfialkoff@fordham.edu
  • Communications Chair
Jenna Fabrizio
jfabrizio2@fordham.edu
  • Media Chair
Vanessa Bedell
vbedell@fordham.edu
  • Social Chair
Carolyn O'Neal
coneal1@fordham.edu
  • Regulations Chair
Rachel Kaplan
rkaplan@fordham.edu
  • Committee Chair
Tabatha Ferrer
tferrer@fordham.edu

CURRICULUM COMMITTEES

Every year, the Student Congress chooses students to participate on a curriculum committee.  The group evaluates and helps develop the curriculum for the M.S.W. program.  Being part of the committee allows you to make important contributions to the future of the social work profession.


STUDENT GROUPS


GSS and Fordham University are home to a diverse range of student groups, including:


  • 21st Century SocialJustice Journal
Zach Alti            
  
zalti@fordham.edu

  • Alliance ofAsian Social Work Students
Annan Liu

aliu9@fordham.edu

  • The Black Social Work Student Association
Simone Sivera
Kristal Findley

socialworkersforchange@gmail.com
kfindley1@fordham.edu

  • Global Social Work Student Association
Kara Sprague
Nazli Boroshan

kara.sprague@gmail.com
nboroshan@fordham.edu

  • Institute for Women & Girls Student Group
Rachelle Kammer
Lauren Kojac

kammer@fordham.edu
lkocaj@fordham.edu

  • The Jewish Student Cultural Club
Avi Rosenberg
Faigy Goldstein
Ruth Reich

rosenbergforsenate@gmail.com
fgoldstein@fordham.edu
rreich1@fordham.edu

  • The Latino/Hispanic SW Student Group
Maria Avilez

mavilez@fordham.edu

  • The LGBT Student Group
David Koch
Kara Sprague
Christopher Ryan

koch@fordham.edu
kara.sprague@gmail.com
christopher.ryan.mccarthy@gmail.com

  • Macro Social Work Student Group
Diandra Cano
Nadine Whint

dcano@fordham.edu
nwhint@gmail.com

  • The Student Mentorship Group
Allegra Hachey
Zach Alti
ahachey@fordham.edu
zalti@fordham.edu

LEARNED LUNCH SPEAKERS' FORUMS


Students and administrators organize a fascinating series of talks all year called Learned Lunches.  Invited speakers address some of today's most critical and timely issues at our Lincoln Center and Westchester campuses. Join the discussion.  Refreshments will be served.

Learn more about the times and topics of upcoming Learned Lunch events on the Monthly Events Calendar.
 
 

Site  | Directories
Submit Search Request