Fordham University            The Jesuit University of New York

Back to Major Awards at a Glance

Critical Language Scholarship

Critical Language Scholarship

Go to external site.


The Critical Language Scholarship Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State to expand the number of university students studying critical languages. The Program offers intensive summer language institutes in thirteen critical languages: Arabic, Azerbaijani, Bangla, Chinese, Hindi, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Persian, Punjabi, Russian, Turkish, and Urdu.

Award Details

Program costs include travel to and from the program location, a pre-departure orientation in Washington D.C., applicable visa fees, room and board, language instruction, travel within country, and entrance fees for "cultural enhancement activities."


Applicant must...

  • be a U.S. citizen
  • be currently enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate program (undergraduate applicants must have completed at least one year of coursework by the CLS Program start date)
  • be at least 18 years old by the start of the program
  • not be an employee of the U.S. Department of State, an employee of a private or public agency (excluding education) under contract to the U.S. Department of State, or an immediate family member of one of the aforementioned employees
Additional Notes

Students cannot accept the Fulbright Critical Language Award and a CLS award in the same academic year.


External deadline: November 15, 2013

Campus deadline:

Site  | Directories
Submit Search Request