Fordham University            The Jesuit University of New York

Back to Major Awards at a Glance

Jacob K. Javits Fellowship Program

Jacob K. Javits Fellowship Program

Go to external website.


The Jacob K. Javits Fellowship Program, funded by the U.S. Department of Education, awards the Javits fellowships to support students who are pursuing doctoral studies in the arts, humanities, and social sciences or a Master of Fine Arts degree. Fellowships are awarded on the basis of financial need, academic achievement, and individual promise. See the Javits website for information on the fields of study that qualify students for the Fellowship.

Award Details

Jacob K. Javits Fellows receive funding either for a period of four years OR until the completion of the degree being funded (whichever is less). The fellowship includes an annual "institutional payment" that covers tuition, and a stipend, the amount of which is determined by the fellow's financial need. In recent years, the maximum stipend has been $30,000.


Applicant must...

  • be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident, or citizen of one of the Freely Associated States
  • be entering a qualified doctoral program or terminal Master of Fine Arts program (if the MFA is the highest degree awarded in that field), OR...
  • be in the first year of a qualified doctoral program at the time of application
  • be eligible to receive a federal grant, loan, or work assistance according to Section 484 of the Higher Education Act

Additional Notes

Applicants attending foreign institutions are not eligible.

Applicants are required to submit GRE Scores and fill out a FAFSA as part of the Javits Fellowship application.


External deadline: October 2010 (TBA)

Campus deadline:

Site  | Directories
Submit Search Request