Fordham University            The Jesuit University of New York
 


Back to Graduate

Current Students










Student Directory


The following is a list of students currently enrolled in graduate studies in history at Fordham. Where available, dissertation titles are included; those who are working on their dissertations may live outside the New York metropolitan area. Full directory information available on request to History faculty and graduate students.  aacosta@fordham.edu 


Medieval | Modern

Medieval History Students:
Name: Area of Interest: Email: Degree:
Lucy C. Barnhouse Medieval hospital care, high medieval religious movements, treatment of disease, especially leprosy, canon law barnhouse267@gmail.com Ph.D.
Alisa Beer Book history, the medieval book trade, manuscript culture, pilgrimage, devotional literature abeer@fordham.edu Ph.D.
M. Christina Bruno 15th-century Italian Franciscan preaching and canon law mbruno@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Jeff Doolittle Early medieval history of the Mediterranean region jdoolittle1@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Rudy Hartmann Crusading and the origin of chivalry, 13th-century County of Champagne, feudal castle tenure in Capetian France hartmann@fordham.edu M.A.
Richard Hresko Economics and technology of armor and weapons production in medieval urban England qed@pipeline.com Ph.D.
Elizabeth Keohane-Burbridge "A Re-Interpretation of the Power and Function of Late Medieval English Convocation" elkeohane@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Elizabeth Kuhl Medieval England and France, medieval historiography, noble culture, pilgrimage, early English common law kuhl@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Esther Liberman-Cuenca "The Making of Borough Customary Law in Medieval Britain" esther.liberman.cuenca@gmail.com Ph.D.
Nathan Melson "Franciscan Identity and Saintly Economy in Medieval Marseille, 1248-1483" melson@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Anna Moscatiello Late medieval England, social and economic history, urban history, London amm306@gmail.com Ph.D.
Joanne Filippone Overty "The Monastic Choir Books of San Sisto in Piacenza and the Production of Liturgical Manuscripts in Fifteenth-century Italy" filippone@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Frank Petrino 13th- and 14th-century English and Scottish history, military and diplomatic history, manuscript studies frank_petrino@hotmail.com Ph.D.
Christopher Rose French of Outremer, historiography, Latin East chrisophermrose@gmail.com Ph.D.
Samantha Sagui "Law, Order, and the Development of Urban Policing in Late Medieval England" ssagui@gmail.com Ph.D.
Kristin Uscinski Medieval medicine, women's studies, Jewish studies, hagiography, canonization, medieval England kristinuscinski@yahoo.com Ph.D.
Thomas Valerio Crusades, East, Asia tvalerio1@hotmail.com M.A.






































 

 
Modern History Students

Modern American | Modern European


Modern American History Students

Name: Area of Interest: Email: Degree:
Melissa Arredia Early America, gender arredia@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Edoardo Barsotti 19th-century European and U.S. history, American Civil War, Italian Risorgimento ebarsotti@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Samantha Brihaspat Colonial American social, cultural,and religious formations in the early period brihaspat@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Darryl E. Brock American empire and the Scientific Survey of Puerto Rico darrylbrock21@yahoo.com Ph.D.
Pedro M. Cameselle 19th-century nation building, U.S.-Latin American relations, immigration cameselle@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Matthew Duffy Military history of the American Revolutionary war mduffy15@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Brandon K. Gauthier U.S. foreign relations, DPRK-E.S. relations bgauthier@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Eoin Higgins Colonial U.S. history, postwar 20th-century U.S. history -- M.A.
Jacquelyne Howard Gulf South jhoward14@fordham.edu Ph.D.
David James Abolitionist movement, Civil War dpaj@aol.com Ph.D.
Erik Johnson American constitutional history and development johnsonerikjohn@aol.com M.A.
Laurence Jurdem American political history, American conservatism jurdem@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Christine Kelly 20th century U.S. social movements, American radicalism, race relations, cultural responses to power and resistance. ckelly62@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Stephen Leccese American history, particularly the early Republic to the Civil War. srleccese@gmail.com  
Jason Mcdonald WWII, especially film and photography, Pacific War, Western European war, Eastern front, general American history jasonmcd@mfaproductions.com Ph.D.
Megan Monahan "Hawaii's Twentieth-Century Working Women: Labor Feminists In Their Own Right" megane.monahan@gmail.com Ph.D.
Rev. Michael P. Morris History of the Catholic Church in the U.S., Catholic Church and labor michael.morris@archny.org Ph.D.
James Reynolds "Seeds of Communist Triumph: Why the U.S. Failed in Laos and How that Defeated Containment in Vietnam" jareynolds@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Hannah Shepard Irish Presbyterianism, Fenianism, immigration, the American West, 19th-century Ireland and America hshepard1@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Jenna Silvers "Spiritualism in Texas in the Nineteenth Century" jennasilvers@mac.com Ph.D.
Nicola Singh "Con la Patria O Contra la Patria? American Protestant Missionaries and U.S. Expansion in Cuba, 1898-1960" enochniki@yahoo.com Ph.D.
James Walker Smith Diplomatic and legal history jsmith21@fordham.edu M.A.
Sai Srikanth 20th-century U.S. legal history, America's role in international organizational formation and international agreements / treatises ssrikanth@fordham.edu M.A.
Elizabeth Stack Immigration from Ireland and Germany to 19th- and 20th-century America, gender roles, labor movements, crime, charity estack@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Noel Wolfe 20th-century American and African American history nwolfe1@fordham.edu Ph.D.






































































Modern European History Students


Name: Area of Interest: Email: Degree:
Edoardo Barsotti 19th-century European and U.S. history, American Civil War, Italian Risorgimento ebarsotti@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Salvatore Cipriano Early modern Europe, Britain and Ireland scipriano2@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Stephanie de Paola Italy, fascism, memory and history, Italy and the Holocaust sdepaola@fordham.edu Ph.D.
John Lash Tudor state formation, early modern politics lash@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Joseph Sebastian Passaro Late 19th-century and early 20th-century Italy and the process of state-building along cultural and economic lines. jpassaro@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Johnathan Pettinato "Burke and Britons: Edmund Burke and the Contested Emergence of an Imperial British Identity" pettinato@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Alessandro Saluppo "Fascism and Violence: The Rise of Squadrismo in Ferrar, 1914-1925" saluppo@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Hannah Shepard Irish Presbyterianism, Fenianism, immigration, the American West, 19th-century Ireland and America hshepard1@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Elizabeth Stack Immigration from Ireland and Germany to 19th- and 20th-century America, gender roles, labor movements, crime, charity estack@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Louie Dean Valencia García 20th-century Spain, European youth culture and social movements, cultural history, urban studies, the Movida Madrilena, everyday life, the production of space, globalization, counter-publics and subcultures, gender and sexuality studies, queer theory lvalencia@fordham.edu Ph.D.
Jonathan Woods Early Modern Britain and Ireland jonphillipwoods@gmail.com Ph.D.


 

Site  | Directories
Submit Search Request