Fordham University            The Jesuit University of New York
 


Events


Events


 
FALL 2014

19 September (Friday)
Faculty Lecture
"Early Philosophy and the Missing Greek Past"
Daryl Tress (Fordham University)
Commentator: Babette Babich (Fordham University)
4:30 PM
Flom Auditorium, Walsh Family Library
Rose Hill Campus
24 September (Wednesday)
Walton Lecture
"Evolution and Creation: A Dialogue toward Ethics"
Elizabeth Johnson (Fordham University)
6:00 PM
12th Floor Lounge
Lincoln Center Campus
17 October (Friday)
Lecture
"The Problem with Levinas"
Simon Critchley (The New School)
4:30 PM
Flom Auditorium, Walsh Family Library
Rose Hill Campus

24-26 October (Friday-Sunday) 32nd Annual Meeting of the Society for Ancient Greek Philosophy (SAGP) with the Society for the Study of Islamic Philosophy and Science (SSIPS)
Lowenstein Building
Lincoln Center Campus
Contact: Daryl Tress
 28 October (Tuesday) Research Seminar
"Poetically Thinking the 'Revolution': Heidegger on Origin, Transformation and Inception"
Felix Ó Murchadha (National University of Ireland)

5:00 PM
Flom Auditorium, Walsh Family Library
Rose Hill Campus
6 November (Thursday)
Sullivan Lecture
"Morality, Etiquette and Taste: Are Our Judgments Objective?"
Paul Boghossian (New York University)
5:30 PM
Lowenstein Building, Room 524
Lincoln Center Campus
12 November (Wednesday) Walton Lecture
"What is Wisdom"
Stephen Grimm (Fordham University)
6:00 PM
12th Floor Lounge
Lincoln Center Campus
14 November (Friday) Research Seminar
"A Thomist Exploration of Contemplation, and its Contemporary Relevance"
Co-Sponsored with the Theology Department
Rik Van Nieuwenhove (Mary Immaculate College of Limerick)
4:30 PM
Tognino Hall (The Great Hall)
Duane Library (2nd Floor)
Rose Hill Campus
19 November (Wednesday) Natural Law Colloquium
"Part-time for All: Creating New Norms of  Work and Care"
Jennifer Nedelsky (University of Toronto)
Commentators:
Jeffrey Flynn (Fordham University, Philosophy Department)
Clare Huntington (Fordham Law School)

6:00-8:00 PM
Fordham Law School
Lincoln Center Campus
  Epistemology and Ethics Workshops
Plaza Room, 12th Floor Lounge, Lowenstein Building
Lincoln Center Campus
Contact: Stephen Grimm
12 September (Tuesday)
14 October (Tuesday)
28 October (Tuesday)
18 November (Tuesday)
Gideon Rosen (Princeton University)
Katia Vavova (Mount Holyoke College)
Sari Kisilevsky (CUNY)
David Velleman (New York University)
SPRING 2015  
5 March (Thursday)
Lecture
Michelle Ann Kosch (Cornell University)
4:30 PM

Flom Auditorium, Walsh Family Library
Rose Hill Campus
7-8 March (Saturday-Sunday) The Early Modern Workshop
Keynote Speakers:
Alan Gabbey (Columbia/Barnard)
Jonathan Israel (Institute for Advanced Study)
Beatrice Longuenesse (NYU)
contact: Reed Winegar (Fordham University)
South Lounge, Lowenstein Building, Plaza Level
Lincoln Center Campus
7 March (Saturday) Philosophy of Mind Conference
"Alternatives to Physicalism"
Keynote Speakers:
Ned Block (New York University)
Brian McLaughlin (Rutgers University)
Howard Robinson (Central European University)
William Jaworski (Fordham University)
Moot Court Room, Fordham Law School
Lincoln Center Campus
11 March (Tuesday)
Walton Lecture
"Are We Embodied Spirits or Spiritual Bodies"
Howard Robinson (Central European University)
William Jaworski (Fordham University)
6:00 PM
12th Floor Lounge
Lincoln Center Campus
17 April (Friday)
Suarez Lecture
Robert Pasnau (University of Colorado Boulder)
4:30 PM
Flom Auditorium, Walsh Family Library
Rose Hill Campus
21 April (Tuesday) Walton Lecture
"Science and the Sacred"
John Cottingham (University of Reading, University of London,
and Oxford University)
6:00 PM
12th Floor Lounge
Lincoln Center Campus
  Epistemology and Ethics Workshops
Plaza Room, 12th Floor Lounge, Lowenstein Building
Lincoln Center Campus
Contact: Stephen Grimm
10 February (Tuesday)
24 February (Tuesday)
10 March (Tuesday)
7 April (Tuesday)
Terence Cuneo (University of Vermont)
Jason Stanley (Yale University)
Chris Tucker (College of William & Mary)
Margaret Walker (Marquette University)
 
   

Site  | Directories
Submit Search Request