Fordham University            The Jesuit University of New York

NYC Graduate Consortium

NYC Graduate Consortium

Doctoral Consortium

Fordham University participates in a graduate school consortium with four other universities in the New York Metropolitan area.  With the permission of their advisers at the home institution and faculty at the host institution, Ph.D. students at any of the participating universities can take one or more courses at any other school in the consortium. Students register and receive credit at their home institution, and the home institution covers tuition costs.

Fordham's membership in the consortium means that Fordham graduate students have the opportunity to take courses not only from Fordham's own internationally recognized faculty, but also from professors such as Richard Bernstein, Bernard Berofsky, Ned Block, Arthur Danto, Ronald Dworkin, Virginia Held, Paul Horwich, Philip Kitcher, Thomas Nagel, Christopher Peacocke, Thomas Pogge, Joseph Raz, Donn Welton, and Don Ihde.  The list of institutions that participate in the graduate school consortium is as follows:

  • Fordham University
  • Columbia University
  • Graduate Center, City University of New York (CUNY)
  • New York University
  • The New School for Social Research
  • Princeton University
  • Rutgers University
  • Stony Brook University
  • Teacher's College, Columbia University
Registering for a Consortium Class

Fordham students who wish to register for courses through the consortium must be matriculated in a GSAS doctoral program. Only one consortium course may be taken each semester, and courses may not be taken through the consortium during the summer.  To register for consortium courses, fill out the Inter-University Doctoral Consortium Registration Form.  Then obtain the signature of the chair of the Philosophy Department, as well as the signature of the GSAS Director of Academic Programs and Support.  After obtaining these required signatures on the registration form, make a photocopy of the signed and completed form, and deposit the photocopy with the Philosophy Department's secretary; then bring the completed form to Lydia Ocasio in the GSAS office (Keating Hall, Room 216).  It is also the student's responsibility to register for ZZGA0920, Consortium Registration.  (Note: The consortium is also now working toward registration via a web site.)  Deadlines for making consortium course changes (add, drop, change of grade type) are governed by the GSAS Academic Calendar.

Site  | Directories
Submit Search Request