Fordham University            The Jesuit University of New York
 


Back to Graduate Degree

Current Students










Current Fordham Sociology Graduate Students
(2009-10)

Melissa Alvarenga
Program:  M.A.
Research Interests:  Immigration, Stratification, Race/Ethnicity, the Latino Experience, Transnationalism
Education:  B.A. in Communication Studies and English, Loyola Marymount University; Advanced Certification in Latin American and Latino Studies, Fordham University
Contactalvarenga.fordham@gmail.com

Grigoris Argeros
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Race and Ethnicity, Immigration, Urban Sociology, Residential Segregation, Social Demography
Education:  B.A. and M.A. in Sociology, Queens College, CUNY
Contactargeros@fordham.edu

Brian Arthur
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Race and the Law
Education:  M.A., University of Glasgow; J.D., New York University School of Law
Contactbrianart@bronxdefenders.org

Adriane Bilous
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Sociology of Religion, Political Sociology, Social Theory, Faith-based Social Movements
Education:  B.A.H., Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada; M.A., University of Chicago
Contact:  bilous@fordham.edu

María Cabán
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Race and Ethnicity, Mental Health, HIV/AIDS, Homelessness and Housing
Education:  B.A. in Sociology, Cornell University; M.A. in Sociology, Fordham University
Contact:  mc755@columbia.edu

Sarah Ashley D'Andrea
Program:  M.A.
Research Interests:  Sociology of Religion, Prejudice/Discrimination, Identity
Education:  B.A., University of Georgia; M.A., University of Georgia
Contactsdandrea1@fordham.edu

Chuck Davis
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Identity Negotiation, Islamic Studies, West African History, Cultures and Peoples, Ricoeurian Philosophy
Education:  B.A., Nyack College; M.A., Alliance Theological Seminary; M.Div., Alliance Theological Seminary
Contact:  Bamako24@yahoo.com

Daniel M. Durkin
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  HIV/AIDS, Southern Africa, Modernization, Development, Globalization, Political Sociology
Education:  B.A. in History and Political Science, College of the Holy Cross; M.A. in International Political Economy and Development, Fordham University
Contact:  N/A

Yuyu Fan
Program:  M.A.
Research Interests:  Sociology of Religion, RNGOs, Sociology of Organization and Welfare
Education:  B.A. in Sociology, Zhejiang University, China
Contactconnie.0330@hotmail.com

Ed Gallagher
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Sociology of Culture and Cultural Sociology, Religion, Social Movements, Deviance and Social Control
Education:  B.A. in Philosophy, Fordham University; M.A. in Sociology, Fordham University
Contact:  ed.gallagher@ymail.com

Ryann Hall
Program:  M.A.
Research Interests: Global Transnational Processes, Diversity and Inequality
Education:  Candidate for B.A. in Anthropology and Spanish, Fordham University
Contactrhall@fordham.edu

Yehudis "Jenny" Hirsch
Program:  M.A.
Research Interests:  Sex and Gender Equality
Education:  B.A. in Sociology, Fordham University
Contact:  yhirsch@fordham.edu

Charles Johnson
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Race and Ethnicity (Environmental Justice, Inequality), Sociology of Religion (The Black Church)
Education:  B.S., Morehouse College; M.Div., Emory University; M.A., Clark Atlanta University
Contactcharlesjohnson97@gmail.com

Ruben A. Kennedy
Program:  M.A.
Research Interests:  Race and Ethnicity
Education:  B.A. in Sociology and African Studies, Hobart and William Smith College, Geneva, NY
Contact:  rkennedy@fordham.edu

Stephanie Laudone
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  New Media, Race/Ethnicity, Gender, Identity
Education:  B.A. in Psychology, Eastern Connecticut State University; M.A. in Sociology, Fordham University
Contactlaudone@fordham.edu

René Manenti
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Migration
Education:  M.A. in Sociology and Theology, Fordham University
Contact:  manenti@fordham.edu

Kate McCabe
Program:  M.A.
Research Interests:  Gender and Power, Group Behavior, Immigration, Social Movements
Education:  B.A., Southern Methodist University
Contact:  kmccabe10@fordham.edu

Michael Miyawaki
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Race and Ethnicity, Identity, Intermarriage, Latinos, Mixed Race People
Education:  B.A. in International Relations, University of Pennsylvania; M.A. in Sociology, Fordham University
Contact:  miyawaki@fordham.edu

Dinorah Nieves
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Social Psychology, Critical Race Feminism
Education:  B.A. in Sociology, State University of New York at Purchase College; M.A. in Communications, Fordham University, Mediator Certification, Westchester Mediation Center, New York; Life Coach Certification, Martha Beck Incorporated
Contact:  Dinorah_Nieves@hotmail.com

Judith A. Perez
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Housing Policy, Urban Sociology, Race and Ethnicity
Education:  B.A., Canisius College, M.A., Teachers College, Columbia University; Advanced Certification in Latin American and Latino Studies, Fordham University
Contact:  judithperez@fordham.edu

Jessie Rochford
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Emerging Adulthood, Immigration
Education:  B.A. in African American Studies and Sociology, University of Maryland; M.A. in Sociology, Fordham University; Advanced Certification in Latin American and Latino Studies, Fordham University
Contactjrochford@fordham.edu

Kemi Sojeyu
Program:  M.A.
Research Interests:  Immigration, Education, Mental Health, Identity, Race and Ethnicity
Education:  B.A. in Sociology, Georgetown University
Contactsojeyu@fordham.edu

Andrew Tiedt
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Aging and Life Course Sociology, Urban Sociology, Social Demography/Population Studies
Education:  B.A. in Japanese Studies, Earlham College; M.A. in Sociology, Brooklyn College of the City University of New York
Contact:  tiedt@fordham.edu

Trinidad Valle
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Race and Ethnicity, Gender, Media Studies, Sociology of Culture, Latin America
Education:  B.A. in Sociology, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile; M.S. in Public Policy and Administration, London School of Economics and Political Science
Contact:  valle@fordham.edu

Dennis Velez
Program:  M.A.
Research Interests:  Diversity and Inequality, Race Relations, Hispanic Studies, Urban Education, Social Movements
Education:  B.A. in Political Science, Iona College, New Rochelle, NY
Contact:  dvelez5@fordham.edu

Katia Yurguis
Program:  Ph.D.
Research Interests:  Sociology of Religion, Ethnography, Social Theory, Migration, the Expatriate Experience, Identity
Education:  B.A. in Anthropology, Cornell University; M.A. in Anthropology, New School
Contact:  yurguis@fordham.edu

Site  | Directories
Submit Search Request