Fordham University            The Jesuit University of New York
 


Faculty
Fordham’s distinguished faculty leads the field of theology in scholarly research, publishing, teaching, and service. Collectively, the faculty possesses a breadth and diversity of knowledge and expertise that spans countless methods and topics of theological inquiry.


Barbara Andolsen, James E. Buckman Esq. Chair
in Applied Christian Ethics
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Christian Ethics

(718) 817-3361 | andolsen@fordham.edu | webpage



Professor Andolsen
 
Mary Callaway, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University

Biblical Studies, Old Testament


(718) 817-3255 | callaway@fordham.edu | webpage



Professor Callaway


Charles C. Camosy, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame

Christian Ethics

(718) 817-3207 | camosy@fordham.edu | webpage



Professor Camosy


Robert G. Davis, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University

Historical Theology

(718) 817-3242 | rdavis32@fordham.edu | webpage






George Demacopoulos, Professor
Ph.D., University of North Carolina

Historical Theology; Early, Medieval, and
Byzantine Christianity

(718) 817-3252 | demacopoulos@fordham.edu | webpage


Professor Demacopoulos


Benjamin Dunning, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University

New Testament and Early Christianity, Christianity in Late Antiquity, Early Christian Scriptural Hermeneutics,
Critical Theory and the Study of Religion


(212) 636-6383 | dunning@fordham.edu | webpage
Inside Fordham article (1) | Inside Fordham article (2)
Professor Dunning


James T. Fisher, Professor
Ph.D., Rutgers University

Historical Theology

(212) 636-7698 | jafisher@fordham.edu | webpage
Inside Fordham article


Professor Fisher


Jeannine Hill Fletcher, Associate Professor
Th.D., Harvard Divinity School

Systematic Theology, Religious Pluralism

(718) 817-3256 | hillfletche@fordham.edu | webpage



Professor Fletcher


Franklin T. Harkins, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame

Historical Theology: Medieval Scholasticism, Medieval& Patristic Exegesis, History of Jewish-Christian Relations

(718) 817-0522 | fharkins@fordham.edu | webpage
Inside Fordham article
Professor Harkins


Bradford E. Hinze, Professor, Karl Rahner Chair in Theology
Ph.D., University of Chicago

Systematic Theology, Fundamental Theology, Ecclesiology

(718) 817-3364 | bhinze@fordham.edu | webpage




Christine Firer Hinze, Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago

Christian Social and Economic Ethics; Catholic Social Teaching and Ethics; Women, Family, and Work

(718) 817-3363 | hinze@fordham.edu | webpage


Professor Hinze


Karina Hogan, Associate Professor
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies
Lincoln Center Campus
Ph.D., University of Chicago

Biblical Theology, Hebrew Bible Theology

(212) 636-7675 | kahogan@fordham.edu | webpage

Professor Hogan


J. Patrick Hornbeck II, Associate Professor
Chair
D.Phil., Oxford University

Historical Theology; Late Medieval and Early Modern Christianity; Contemporary U.S. Roman Catholicism

(718) 817-3240 | hornbeck@fordham.edu | webpage
Inside Fordham article (1) | Inside Fordham article (2)
Professor Hornbeck


Elizabeth A. Johnson, C.S.J., Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., Catholic University of America

Systematic Theology, Feminist Theology

(718) 817-3427 | ejohnson@fordham.edu | webpage
personal webpage


PRofessor Johnson


Judith M. Kubicki, C.S.S.F., Associate Professor
Ph.D., Catholic University of America

Systematic Theology, Sacramental Theology,
Liturgical Theology

(718) 817-3262 | kubicki@fordham.edu | webpage





Kathryn Kueny, Associate Professor of Theology
Director of the Religious Studies Program -
Lincoln Center
Ph.D., University of Chicago

(212) 636-7143 | kueny@fordham.edu | webpage



  Professor Kueny


Michael E. Lee, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame

Systematic Theology, Soteriology, Spirituality, Latin American and Latino/a Theology

(718) 817-3259 | fmilee@fordham.edu | webpage





Joseph T. Lienhard, S.J., Professor
Dr. Theol Habil., Freiburg

Historical Theology; Patristics; Origen, Augustine Studies

(718) 817-3209 | lienhard@fordham.edu | webpage





James McCartin, Associate Professor and Director, Center on Religion and Culture
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame

U.S. Catholic history; American religious history; cultural history of religion; history of spirituality

(212) 636-7492 | jmccartin1@fordham.edu | webpage
Professor McCartin


Brenna Moore, Assistant Professor
Th.D., Harvard Divinity School

Historical Theology

(718) 817-4762 | brmoore@fordham.edu | webpage
Professor Moore


Harry P. Nasuti, Professor
Ph.D., Yale University

Biblical Studies, Old Testament

(718) 817-3362 | nasuti@fordham.edu | webpage



Professor Nasuti


Maureen O'Connell, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Boston College

Systematic Theology, Moral Theology, Social Ethics

(212) 636-7674 | amaoconnell@fordham.edu | webpage



Professor O'Connell


Aristotle Papanikolaou, Archbishop Demetrios Professor in Orthodox Theology and Culture
Ph.D., University of Chicago

Systematic Theology, Eastern Orthodox Theology,
Trinitarian Theology

(212) 636-6249 | papanikolaou@fordham.edu | webpage
Inside Fordham article



Christiana Peppard, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Yale University

Theology, Science, and Ethics;  Ecology and Environmental Studies; Moral Theology

(212) 636-6279 | cpeppard@fordham.edu | webpage
Inside Fordham article





Michael Peppard, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Yale University

Biblical Theology, New Testament

(718) 817-3248 | mpeppard@fordham.edu | webpage
Inside Fordham article


Professor Peppard


Kathryn Reklis, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Yale University

Historical, Modern Protestantism

(718) 817-3258 | kreklis@fordham.edu | webpage






Thomas Scirghi, S.J., Associate Professor
Th.D., Boston University

Systematic Theology

(718) 817-3249 | scirghi@fordham.edu | webpage



Thomas Scirghi


John Seitz, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University

History of Modern Christianity, American Religions, Catholic Studies, and Method and Theory in the Study of Religion

(212) 636-6398 | jseitz@fordham.edu | webpage
Inside Fordham article


Professor Seitz


Maureen A. Tilley, Professor
Ph.D., Duke University

Augustine, Christianity in Northern Africa, Hagiography,
History of Biblical Interpretation, Women in Christianity


(212) 636-6369 | mtilley@fordham.edu | webpage





Terrence W. Tilley, Avery Cardinal Dulles, S.J. Professor of Catholic Theology
Ph.D., Graduate Theological Union

Philosophy of Religion, Systematic Theology

(718) 817-3240 | ttilley@fordham.edu | webpage
Inside Fordham article (1) | Inside Fordham article (2)



Richard R. Viladesau, Professor
S.T.D., Pontifical Gregorian University

Systematic Fundamental Theology, Fundamental Theology, Ecclesiology, Revelation, Hermeneutics,
Theological Aesthetics


(718) 817-3253 | viladesau@fordham.edu | webpage
personal webpage



Larry L. Welborn, Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Biblical Studies, Pauline Epistles, Apostolic Fathers

(718) 817-3250 | welborn@fordham.edu | webpage



Professor Welborn


Other Faculty

Emeritus Faculty:

Bartholomew J. Collopy, Ph.D.
Rev. Dr. Richard J. Dillon, S.S.L.
Rev. Dr. Donald J. Moore, S.J.
Jose Pereira, Ph.D.
Rev. Msgr. Thomas J. Shelley, Ph.D. | webpage






Post-Doctoral Fellows and Lecturers:



Joshua Schapiro
, Post-Doctoral Fellow
Ph.D. Harvard University

jschapiro@fordham.edu | webpage









Very Rev. Dr. John Behr
, Distinguished Lecturer
D.Phil., Oxford University

 

John Denniston
, Lecturer
Ph.D., Fordham University
Science, Technology and Faith; Eschatology;
New Testament Themes
(718) 817-3257 | jhndenniston0@gmail.com | webpage




 

Adjunct Faculty
:


Victor Austin, Ph.D. | vaustin@fordham.edu
Martin Carney | macarney@fordham.edu
Greg Darling | darling@fordham.edu
Barat Ellman | ellman@fordham.edu
Sr. Anne-Marie Kirmse | kirmse@fordham.edu
Ronnie Klein | rklein@fordham.edu
Rev. Larry McCormick, Ph.D. | frmac@columbia.edu
Jeffrey Pettis, Ph.D. | pettis@fordham.edu
Kenneth Share, Ph.D. | share@fordham.edu
Peter F. Steinfels | psteinfels@fordham.edu
Rev. Joel Warden, Ph.D. | warden@fordham.edu
 








Site  | Directories
Submit Search Request