Fordham University            The Jesuit University of New York

Awards and Recogitions
Departmental Awards
Each year, Theology faculty at Rose Hill elect the winner of the Jouin Award, and Theology faculty at Lincoln Center elect the winner of the Ignacio Ellacuría Award. In addition, the faculty collectively may recognize one or more students as winner(s) of the Theta Alpha Kappa Award.

The winners of the Jouin and Ellacuría awards shall:
  • Be primary or secondary Theology majors slated to receive their undergraduate degree in the same academic year in which they are to be declared award winners;
  • At the end of the fall semester of the academic year in which they are to be declared award winners, have earned a cumulative 3.5 grade point average in Theology courses and in other courses to be counted toward their Theology majors;
  • Have demonstrated exceptional academic performance in Theology during their undergraduate years at Fordham; and
  • Embody the mission and values of Fordham University in their theological work and their lives.
Past and Recent Winners of the Jouin Award

Past and Recent Winners of the Ignacio Ellacuría Award

Raymond Walsh FCLC '12 | 6th Ellacuria Award Winner
Joseph Vignone FCLC '11 | 5th Ellacuria Award Winner
David de la Fuente FCLC '10 | 4th Ellacuria Award Winner
Matthew Pucket FCLC '09 | 3rd Ellacuria Award Winner
Melissa Northrop FCLC '08 | 2nd Ellacuria Award Winner
Kate DiGeronimo FCLC '07 | 1st Ellacuria Award Winner

Past and Recent Winners of the Theta Alpha Kappa Award
Xavier Montecel          FCRH'12 TAK Award Winner

Theta Alpha Kappa

Theta Alpha Kappa is the national honors society for scholars in Theology and Religious Studies.  The society was founded at Manhattan College in 1976 and features 180 chapters around the country with nearly 11,000 members.

Fordham University's chapter, Alpha Theta Omicron, was established in 2007. It is comprised of students who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement, both in their general studies but particularly in the area of Theology and Religious Studies. Members have completed at least 12 credits in Theology or Religious Studies, and maintained a 3.5 GPA in these courses and a 3.0 GPA overall.

For more information, please visit the Theta Alpha Kappa website.

Site  | Directories
Submit Search Request