Error processing SSI file


More than 1,000 members of the Fordham community and New York City society gathered in the Grand Ballroom of the Waldorf=Astoria on March 26 to honor Stephen E. Bepler, FCRH '64, Kim Bepler and Theodore Cardinal McCarrick, FCRH '54, archbishop emeritus of Washington, during the Sixth Annual Fordham Founder's Award Dinner.

The gala raised more than $2.1 million for the Fordham Founder's Presidential Scholarship Fund, which is awarded to young men and women whose curiosity of mind and strength of spirit have enabled them to go beyond the boundaries of expectation. Sixty-seven President's Council members contributed $1,035,000 to the overall total.

Joseph M. McShane, S.J., president of Fordham University, thanked those in attendance for making it possible for Fordham to attract talented students and to "give to them the kind of values-laden education that has been the hallmark of a Fordham education for one hundred and sixty-six years," an education in the Ignatian tradition.

Three-time Emmy Award-winner Debbie Allen welcomed the assembled guests and dignitaries, including bestselling author Mary Higgins Clark, FCLC '79; Gen. John M. Keane, GSB '66, former vice chief of staff of the U.S. Army; Charles Osgood, FCRH '54, longtime anchor of CBS News Sunday Morning; Avery Cardinal Dulles, S.J., Laurence J. McGinley Professor of Religion and Society at Fordham; and Edward Cardinal Egan, archbishop of New York, who delivered the invocation.

Allen also introduced the evening's honorees and entertainment, which included spirited performances by the b-Sides, the University's co-ed a capella group, and students in the Ailey/Fordham B.F.A. in Dance program. (Allen's daughter Vivian Nixon is a 2006 Ailey/Fordham graduate.)

The Fordham Founder's Award recognizes individuals whose personal and professional lives reflect the highest aspirations of the University's defining traditions, as an institution dedicated to wisdom and learning in the service of others. Previous dinners have raised more than $7 million for the Fordham Founder's Presidential Scholarship Fund.  Read more.


Richard F. Bonini, GSB '60
James E. Buckman, Esq., FCRH '66
Robert D. Daleo, GSB '72
Mario J. Gabelli, GSB '65
John P. Kehoe, FCRH '60, FCLC '85
Gerold F. L. Klauer, FCRH '64
Frank J. Petrilli, GSB '72, GBA '74
Regina M. Pitaro, FCRH '76
Peter J. Sacripanti, Esq., FCLS '82
John N. Tognino, FCLS '75
William D. Walsh, FCRH '51


Gerald C. Crotty, Esq., FCRH '73
Carolyn N. Dolan, MC '68
Herbert A. Granath, FCRH '54, GSAS '55
James J. Houlihan, GSB '74
Peter W. Howe, GSB '70
Andrew C. Kerin, FCRH '85
Charles P. Menges, GSB '64
Patricia M. Nazemetz, TMC '71, GSAS '89
Joseph G. Sponholz, FCRH '66
Edward M. Stroz, GSB '79









Error processing SSI file