Fifteenth International Congress
of the New Chaucer Society

July 27-31, 2006, in New York City


The Fifteenth Biennial Congress of the New Chaucer Society has received generous assistance from universities around New York.

  • The congress is hosted by Fordham University with extensive financial support from Dr John Hollwitz, Vice President of Academic Affairs; Dr Nancy Busch, the Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, and the Center for Medieval Studies. 
  • Online registration was made possible with the help of Gerard Cariffe, Dirk Keysser, and Charles Sanson of Computer and Information Systems at Fordham.
  • The conference website was constructed by Kate Lansky, with the help of Morgan Franck, Janine Peterson, and Maryanne Kowaleski, all of Fordham University.
  • Special thanks go to Janine Peterson, Administrative Assistant of the Center for Medieval Studies for keeping track of the conference registrations and answering queries. We also thank Suzanne Yeager for helping out at a crucial juncture of the conference.
  • We gratefully acknowledge the financial support of Hunter College and the Graduate Center of the City University of New York, who are sponsoring the opening reception on Thursday evening.
  • We thank New York University for substantial financial support.
  • Thanks to Fordham University for sponsoring the Friday evening reception.
  • We gratefully acknowledge the financial support of Rutgers University, who is sponsoring the Sunday evening reception.
  • We thank The State University of New York at Stony Brook for financial support to fund the publishers’ exhibit.
  • We are very grateful for support from Columbia University and Princeton University, which has greatly reduced the registration fee for graduate students.
  • Thanks to the Medieval Club of New York for financial support for "Present Tense: Literary Artists and Performers Engaging Chaucer."

Local Arrangements Committee:

Co-chairs: Susan Crane and Maryanne Kowaleski
Glenn Burger, Mary Carruthers, Morgan Franck, Robert Hanning, Steven Kruger, Katherine Little, Paul Strohm, and Sylvia Tomasch.

Program Committee:

Chair: Robert Edwards
Alexandra Gillespie, Christopher Cannon, Corinne J. Saunders, D. Vance Smith, Florence Bourgne, Paul Strohm, David Lawton (ex officio), and David Wallace (ex officio).

 · Conference Home
 · General Information
 · Conference Program
 · Registration
 · Housing
 · Food and Drink
 · Travel Information
 · Conference Events and
 · Activities in New York
 · Acknowledgements