Skip to main content

Modern Languages and Literatures Curriculum

The department offers a wide range of courses in modern languages at all levels of the undergraduate curriculum as part of its mission to support and advance the international and global competencies of university students.

At present, students can major in modern languages with options in French, German, Italian, or Spanish. They may also minor in Arabic, French, German, Italian, Mandarin Chinese, Russian, or Spanish. Students also have the option of taking modern Hebrew and Japanese language courses.

Courses are designed to offer students extended study of the language, literature, and cultures of these language communities.

Upper Level Courses Fall 2020

Arabic

ARAB 2400 - Approaches to Arabic Culture (L-01)
CRN: 42823
Prof: Dr. Mohamed Rahman (mabdelrahman1@fordham.edu)
MW: 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m.

ARAB 2601 - Arabic Conversation and Composition (R-01)
CRN: 42964
Prof: Dr. Mohamed A. Alsiadi (malsiadi@fordham.edu)
TF: 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. 

ARAB 3442 - Arabic Culture and the News Media (R-01)
CRN: 42988
Prof: Dr. Mohamed A. Alsiadi (malsiadi@fordham.edu)
TF 1:00 - 2:15 p.m.

French

FREN 2300 - French Translation and Grammar Review (R-01)
CRN: 42968
Prof. Dr. Joshua Jordan (jjordan28@fordham.edu)
W 11:30 a.m. - 2:15 p.m.

FREN 2600 - France: History, Culture, Civilization (R-01)
CRN: 1048
Prof: Dr. Lise Schreier (lschreier@fordham.edu)
MR 2:30 - 3:45 p.m.

FREN 2600 - France: History, Culture, Civilization (L-01)
CRN: 42824
Prof: Dr. Isaie Dougnon (idougnon@fordham.edu)
TF 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

FREN 3250 - Du Scandale au chef d'oeuvre: Art that Shocks, Offends, and Endures (R-01)
CRN: 43841
Prof: Dr. Jenny Meyer (jmeyer15@fordham.edu)
TF 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

FREN 3340 - Amazones, Salonnières, and Révolutionnaires: Women writers in Acien Régime France (L-01)
CRN: 42825
Prof: Dr. Andrew H. Clark (anclark@fordham.edu)
MR 2:30 - 3:45 p.m.

FREN 3360 - French Autobiography (R-01)
CRN: 43276
Prof: Dr. Lise Schreier (lschreier@fordham.edu)
MR 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

FREN 3464 - French Films d'Auteur (R-01)
CRN: 42967
Prof: Dr. Audrey Evrard (aevrard@fordham.edu)
MR 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m.

FREN 3564-THEA 3564 - French Theater and Performance (L-01)
CRN: 39377
Prof: Hélène Godec (hgodec@fordham.edu)
W 2:30 - 5:15 p.m.

German

Italian

ITAL 2561 - Reading Culture through Literature (R-01)
CRN: 42904
Prof: Dr. Alessandro Polcri (polcri@fordham.edu)
TF 01:00 a.m. - 2:15 p.m.

ITAL 3650 - Italy at War (R-01)
CRN: 42905
Prof: Dr. Francesca Parmeggiani (parmeggiani@forham.edu)
TF 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m.

Linguistics

LING 3015 - Language and Thought (R-01)
CRN: 42971
Prof: Sarah Grey (sgrey4@fordham.edu)
TF 1:00 - 2:15 p.m.

LING 4020 - Language and Race (R-01)
CRN: 43840
Prof: Dr. Britta Ingebretson (bingebretson@fordham.edu)
MR 2:30 - 3:45 p.m.

Mandarin Chinese

MAND 2500 - Approaches to Literature (R-01)
CRN: 42985
Prof: Dr. Xinran Dong (xdong2@fordham.edu)
TF 1:00 - 2:15 p.m.

MAND 2500 - Approaches to Chinese Literature (L-01)
CRN: 36121
Prof: Dr. Yiju Huang (yhuang139@fordham.edu)
TF 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m.

MAND 3020 - Learn Chinese through Film (R-01)
CRN: 42987
Prof. Dr. Xinran Dong (xdong2@fordham.edu)
TF 2:30 - 3:45 p.m.

Modern Languages and Literatures (MLAL)

MLAL-COLI 3010 - Politics and Poetry in the Middle Ages the Rise of Vernacular Cultures in the Mediterranean (L-01)
CRN: 43279
Prof: Dr. Susanna Barsella (barsella@fordham.edu)
MR 2:30 - 3:45 p.m.

MLAL 3043 - Modern Chinese Literature in Translation: Politics & Aesthetics (L-01)
CRN: 43279
Prof: Dr. Yiju Huang (yhuang139@fordham.edu)
TF 1:00 - 2:15 p.m.

MLAL 3059 - Gender Benders: An Introduction to Gender Icons and Non-Conformists of the German Speaking World (L-01)
CRN: 43278
Prof: Dr. Maria Ebner (mebner1@fordham.edu)
MW 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m.

Russian

RUSS 2650 - Media and the Russian State (L-01)
CRN: 42564
Prof: Riley Ossorgin (mossorginviii@fordham.edu)
MW 1:00 - 2:15 p.m.

Spanish

SPAN 2201 - Spanish Community Engaged Learning (L-01)
CRN: 43281
Prof: Dr. Carey Kasten (kasten@fordham.edu)
MR 2:30 - 3:45 p.m.

SPAN 2301 - Spanish for Heritage Speakers (L-01)
CRN: 18681
Prof: Dr. Arnaldo Cruz-Malavé (cruzmalave@fordham.edu)
TF 1:00 - 2:15p.m.

SPAN 2301 - Spanish for Heritage Speakers (L-02)
CRN: 40211
Prof: Dr. Arnaldo Cruz-Malavé (cruzmalave@fordham.edu)
TF 2:30 - 3:45 p.m.

SPAN 2301 - Spanish for Heritage Speakers (R-01)
CRN: 11383
Prof: Dr. Miguel Garcia (mgarcia137@fordham.edu)
TF 2:30 - 3:45 p.m.

SPAN 2301 - Spanish for Heritage Speakers (R-02)
CRN: 40535
Prof: Blanca Urízar (urizar@fordham.edu)
MR 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m.

SPAN 2305 - Spanish Conversation and Composition (R-01)
CRN: 36149
Prof: Dr. Sara Lehman (slehman@fordham.edu)
TF 10:00 - 11:15 a.m. 

SPAN 2500 - Approaches to Literature (L-01)
CRN: 27068
Prof: Dr. Carey Kasten (kasten@fordham.edu)
MR 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

SPAN 2500 - Approaches to Literature (R-01)
CRN: 10570
Prof: Dr. Miguel García (mgarcia137@fordham.edu)
TF 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

SPAN 2500 - Approaches to Literature (R-02)
CRN: 10571
Prof: Dr. Ronald Méndez-Clark (mendezclark@fordham.edu)
MR 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. 

SPAN 2500 - Approaches to Literature (R-03)
CRN: 39888
Prof: Dr. Javier Jiménez-Belmonte (jimenezbelm@fordham.edu)
MR 2:30 - 3:45 p.m. 

SPAN 2650 - Business Spanish (L-01)
CRN: 43565
Prof: Dr. Esther Lomas-Sampedro (lomassamped@fordham.edu)
TF 1:00 - 2:15 p.m. 

SPAN 3001 - Spain: Literature and Culture Survey (R-01)
CRN: 36150
Prof: Javier Jiménez-Belmonte (jimenezbelm@fordham.edu)
MR 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. 

SPAN 3002 - Latin America: Literature/Culture Survey (L-01)
CRN: 39580
Prof: Dr. Arnaldo Cruz-Malavé (cruzmalave@fordham.edu)
TF 10:00 - 11:15 a.m. 

SPAN 3075 - Crime Fiction in Hispanic Literature (R-01)
CRN: 43248
Prof: Ronald Méndez-Clark (mendezclark@fordham.edu)
MR 2:30 - 3:45 p.m. 

SPAN 3166 - Trends in Contemporary Latin American Film (L-01)
CRN: 43282
Prof: Dr. Cynthia Vich (vich@fordham.edu)
MR 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

SPAN 3515 - New Spanish Literature: Rewriting the Public Sphere in 21st Century Spain (R-01)
CRN: 42990
Prof: Dr. Javier Jiménez-Belmonte (jimenezbelm@fordham.edu)
MR 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

SPAN 4855 - Fascist Aesthetics and the Hispanic World (R-01)
CRN: 42962
Profs: Dr. Carl Fischer (cfischer8@fordham.edu) and Dr. Carey Kasten (kasten@fordham.edu)
TF 11:30 a.m. -12:45 p.m.

Language Course Sequence

All students interested in studying a foreign language at Fordham University may choose either to continue the language studied previously or to begin a new one. Course sequence differ depending on the foreign language students wishes to take.