Skip to main content

GSS Academic Calendar

Fall 2019

August

Wednesday, August 21
Orientation for Incoming Lincoln Center MSW Students 9 a.m. - 2 p.m. - Pope Auditorium
Orientation for Incoming Ph.D. Students 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. - Room 713

Thursday, August 22
Orientation for Incoming Westchester MSW Students 9 a.m. - 2 p.m. at Westchester

Saturday, August 24
First Day of Saturday Classes

Monday, August 26
First Day of Monday Classes

Wednesday, August 28
First Day of Wednesday Classes

Thursday, August 29
First Day of Thursday Classes

Saturday, August 31 - Monday, September 2
Labor Day Weekend - University Closed - No Saturday Classes

September

Tuesday, September 3
First Day of Tuesday Classes
First Day of Field Work for 28hr per week field work students

Friday, September 6
Last Day to add/drop classes for Fall Semester

Monday, September 9
First Day of Field Work for 14 and 21 hour per week field students

Friday, September 20
Deadline for removal of INC, ABS, and NGR grades incurred during Summer 2019 Session
Deadline to apply to graduate for January 15, 2020 graduates

October

Monday, October 14
Columbus Day - University Closed

November

Monday, November 18 - Sunday, November 24
Registration for Spring and Summer 2020

Wednesday, November 27 - Sunday, December 1
Thanksgiving Break - University Closed

December

Tuesday, December 10
Last Day of Tuesday classes for the fall semester

Wednesday, December 11
Last Day of Wednesday classes for the fall semester

Thursday, December 12
Last Day of Thursday classes for the fall semester

Saturday, December 14
Last Day of Saturday classes for the fall semester

Monday, December 16
Last Day of Monday classes for the fall semester

Sunday, December 22
Last Day of Field Instruction for the fall semester

Tuesday, December 23 - Wednesday, January 1
Christmas Recess - University Closed

Spring 2020

January

Thursday, January 2
University Reopens
Field Work Resumes for the Spring Semester

Monday, January 6
First Day of Monday Classes

Wednesday, January 8
Orientation for Incoming Westchester MSW Students 9 a.m. - 2 p.m. at Watchester

Friday, January 10
Orientation for Incoming Lincoln Center MSW Students 9 a.m. - 2 p.m. 12th Floor Lounge

Thursday, January 16
First Day of Thursday Classes

Saturday, January 18
First Day of Saturday Classes

Monday, January 20
Martin Luther king, Jr. Day - University Closed

Tuesday, January 21
First Day of Tuesday Classes

Wednesday, January 22
First Day of Wednesday Classes

Friday, January 24
Last Day to add/drop classes for Spring Semester
Deadline for removal of INC, ABS and NGR grades incurred during Fall 2019

Saturday, January 25
Deadline to apply to graduate for May and August 2020 graduates

February

Monday, February 17
President's Day - University Closed

March

Monday, March 16 - Sunday, March 22
Spring Break - No Classes

Monday, March 30 - Sunday, April 5
Registration for Fall 2020

April

Thursday, April 9 - Monday, April 13
Easter Recess - No Classes - University Closed

May

Friday, May 1
Last Day of Field Instruction for 21 hour students

Tuesday, May 5
Last Day of Tuesday Classes

Wednesday, May 6
Last Day of Wednesday Classes

Thursday, May 7
Last Day of Thursday Classes

Friday, May 8
Last Day of Field Instruction for 28 hour students

Saturday, May 9
Last Day of Saturday Classes

Monday, May 11
Last Day of Monday Classes

Friday, May 15
Baccalaureate Mass - 5 p.m. Lincoln Center

Saturday, May 16
First Day of Saturday Summer Session Classes
University Commencement - Rose Hill

Tuesday, May 19
First Day of Tuesday Summer Session Classes

Thursday, May 21
First Day of Thursday Summer Session Classes

Friday, May 22
Last Day to add/drop classes for Summer Session

Saturday, May 23 - Monday, May 25
Memorial Day Weekend - University Closed - No Saturday Summer Classes

June

Friday, June 12
Deadline for removal of INC, ABS, NGR grades incurred in Spring 2020

Tuesday, July 7
Last Day of Tuesday Summer Session Classes

Thursday, July 9
Last Day of Thursday Summer Session Classes

Saturday, July 18
Last Day of Saturday Summer Session Classes

Friday, July 31
Last Day of Field Instruction for 14 hour students