Skip to main content

Current Graduate Students

The following is a list of students currently enrolled in Graduate Studies in History at Fordham. Where available, dissertation titles are included. Note that those who are working on their dissertations may live outside the New York metropolitan area.

Edward Aw, MA
eaw@fordham.edu

Alisa Beer, PhD (ABD)
"Managing Monastic Libraries in Medieval England"
Mentor: Dr. Maryanne Kowaleski
abeer@fordham.edu

Benjamin Bertrand, PhD
Intersections of violence and society in Medieval Europe, with a special emphasis upon the ways that violence served to construct identity in different communities
bbertrand3@fordham.edu

Lisa Betty, PhD
Modern history focusing on the themes of Labor, Migration, and Diaspora in the Americas, the Caribbean and Africa
lbetty1@fordham.edu

Ronald Braasch, PhD
Medieval History, Military History, The Hundred Years’ War, The Crusades
rbraasch@fordham.edu

Owen Clow, PhD
oclow@fordham.edu

Giulia Crisanti, PhD (ABD)
"Europeans are Lovin' It? Coca Cola, McDonald's and the Challenges to American Global Businesses in Italy and France, 1943-2015"
Mentor: Dr. Silvana Patriarca
gcrisanti@fordham.edu

Nicholas DeAntonis, PhD (ABD)
"The Struggle to End the Suadi Arabian Slave Trade: The United States, the United Nations and Transnational Non-Governmental Organization, 1953-1963"
Mentor: Dr. Chris Dietrich
ndeantonis@fordham.edu

Patrick DeBrosse, PhD
High Medieval Europe, especially its noble culture, the crusading movement, the construction of narrative history, and the Angevins domains.
pdebrosse@fordham.edu

Alex DeWitt, S.J., MA
Church history, specifically Jesuit history of Great Britain and Ireland at the time of the Reformation; early modern; humanism
adewitt@fordham.edu

Taylor Dickinson, MA
Medieval England; concepts of power and national identity; governance and administration; feudal corruption and oppression
tdickinson2@fordham.edu

Jeff Doolittle, PhD (ABD)
“Early Medieval Medical Culture at Montecassino”
Mentor: Dr Richard Gyug
jdoolittle1@fordham.edu

Kasey Fausak, PhD
kfausak@fordham.edu

Louisa Foroughi, PhD (ABD)
"What Is a Yeoman? Status, Religion, and Material Culture in Later Medieval England "
Mentor: Dr. Maryanne Kowaleski
lforoughi@fordham.edu

Sally Gordon, MA
sgordon44@fordham.edu

Douglass Hamilton, PhD
dhamilton12@fordham.edu

William Hogue, PhD
US Diplomatic History, US Foreign Relations in Latin America, Religion and American Foreign Relations.
whogue@fordham.edu

Emily Horihan, PhD
Urban history, NYC history, immigration, suburbanization
ehorihan@fordham.edu

Jacquelyne Howard, PhD (ABD)
North American Borderlands, Marriage and Family, Eighteenth Century French Imperialism
jhoward14@fordham.edu

Richard Hresko, PhD (ABD)
"The Development of the Ferrous Arms and Armor Industry in Medieval England, 1272-1483"
Mentor: Dr. Maryanne Kowaleski
qed@pipeline.com

Tobias Hrynick, PhD
Medieval environmental history, and the history of wetland management.
thrynick@fordham.edu

Stephen Leccese, PhD (ABD)
“The Discovery of the Consumer: Economic Reform and Social Regulation, 1865-1904”
Mentor: Dr Chris Dietrich
sleccese@fordham.edu

Sean Loritz, MA
sloritz@fordham.edu

Jordyn May, PhD
Visual culture of the Woman Suffrage Movement in America
jmay15@fordham.edu

Garret McDonald, PhD
History of forced labor and its relationship to Russian/Soviet society
gmcdonald6@fordham.edu

Michael McKenna, PhD
mmckenna17@fordham.edu

Nathan Melson, PhD
melson@fordham.edu

Melissa Morales, PhD (ABD)
“The Threat of Rebellion: Gender and the American Revolution”
Mentor: Dr Elaine Crane
mmorales52@fordham.edu

Christie Olek, PhD
Social history of medicine, the healer-patient relationship, medieval hospitals, women and gender 
colek@fordham.edu

Rachel Podd, PhD
Late medieval England and Iberia, medical and legal history, the history of health, disease, and gender.
rpodd@fordham.edu

Amanda Racine, PhD
anerbovig@fordham.edu

Christopher Rose, PhD (ABD)
"The Nobility of Outremer: Identity and Power among the Ibelins and their Affinity, 1174-1374"
Mentor: Dr Nicholas Paul
christophermrose@gmail.com

Samantha Sagui, PhD (ABD)
"Law, Order, and the Development of Urban Policing in Late Medieval England"
Mentor: Dr. Maryanne Kowaleski
ssagui@gmail.com

Michael Sanders, PhD
The interactions of Christians, Muslims, and Jews in the late Middle Ages, particularly on the Iberian peninsula.
msanders17@fordham.edu

Glauco Schettini, PhD
Eighteenth- and nineteenth-century Europe, in particular the age of revolutions and the history of nationalism.
gschettini@fordham.edu

Kaitlin Shine, PhD
kshine@fordham.edu

Nicole Siegel, PhD
nsiegel3@fordham.edu

James Smith, PhD
jsmith12@fordham.edu

William Tanner Smoot, PhD
Early and High Medieval England; religious history and culture; monasticism
wsmoot1@fordham.edu

Damien Strecker, PhD
African American political thought, urban history, race, colonialism, Reconstruction
dstrecker1@fordham.edu

Ryan Sullivan, PhD
rsullivan60@fordham.edu

Brandon Tucker, MA
btucker7@fordham.edu

Michael Wootton, MA
mwootton@fordham.edu