Skip to main content

Political Science Full-Time Faculty

Jose A. Aleman, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 662 Faber Hall
Email: aleman@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3955
Areas of expertise: comparative political economy, democratic institutions, social science methodology

Idalia Bastiaens, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 666 Faber Hall
Email: ibastiaens@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3966
Areas of expertise: international political economy, international development, globalization, foreign direct investment, international trade liberalization

William P. Baumgarth, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 673 Faber Hall
Email: baumgarth@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3972
Areas of expertise: classical, medieval, modern, and contemporary political philosophy, Aquinas, Machiavell, von Hayek

Bruce F. Berg, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 670 Faber Hall
Email: berg@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3958
Areas of expertise: U.S. health and social policy, interest groups, federal-state relations, New York City politics

Susan A. Berger, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: Lowenstein 917-E
Email: berger@fordham.edu
Phone: 212-636-6362
Areas of expertise: comparative politics, Latin American politics, political economy of development, immigration, Guatemalan politics, gender

Jeffrey E. Cohen, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 675 Faber Hall
Email: cohen@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3956
Areas of expertise: American political Institutions, public policy, elections, the presidency

Jonathan Crystal, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Vice Provost
Associate Vice President and Associate Chief Academic Officer
Office: Cunniffe House 225
Email: crystal@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-0136
Areas of expertise: international political economy, economic globalization, politics of international trade and investment

Ivelisse Cuevas-Molina, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 671 Faber Hall
Email: cuevasmolina@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3969
Areas of expertise: political participation, survey methodology, and racial and ethnic politics in the United States

Anjali K. Dayal, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: Lowenstein 403H
Email: adayal@fordham.edu
Phone: 212-636-7863
Areas of expertise: international organizations, United Nations, peacekeeping, peace processes, post-conflict transitions, human rights

Thomas De Luca, Jr., Ph.D.
Professor
Director, International Studies Program
Office: Lowenstein 925-F
Email: tdeluca@fordham.edu
Phone: 212-636-6384
Areas of expertise: American politics, democratic theory, constitutional law, comparative democratization, terrorism

John P. Entelis, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, Middle East Studies Program
Office: 678 Faber Hall
Email: entelis@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3953
Areas of expertise: comparative politics of the Middle East and North Africa, cultural politics, political parties, revolutions, Islam and democracy

Nicole Fermon, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: Lowenstein 925-D
Email: fermon@fordham.edu
Phone: 212-636-6378
Areas of expertise: political theory, feminist thought, history of political thought (ancient, modern, and contemporary), democracy, nationalism, women’s studies, film

Christina Greer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies (Lincoln Center)
Advising Email: posc@fordham.edu
Areas of expertise: American politics, race and ethnic politics, urban politics, quantitative methods, Congress, New York City and New York State politics, public opinion, elections

Boris Heersink, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 667 Faber Hall
Email: bheersink@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3967
Areas of expertise: political institutions, political parties, and measuring effects of campaigns on election results

Annika Hinze, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 676 Faber Hall
Email: ahinze1@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3960
Areas of expertise: urban comparative politics, politics of immigration, religious, ethnic, and national identity, urban neighborhood space

Brendan Horan, S.J.
Lecturer
Office: 660 Faber Hall
Email: bhoran@fordham.edu
Areas of expertise: constitutional law, American legal system

Robert J. Hume, Ph.D.
Professor
Department Chair
Office: 669 Faber Hall
Email: rhume@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3964
Areas of expertise: constitutional law, judicial politics

Melissa Labonte, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Interim Dean, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
Office: 222 Keating Hall
Email: labonte@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-4405
Areas of expertise: United Nations system, humanitarian politics, peacebuilding, multilateral peace operations, conflict resolution, human rights, and West African politics

Sarah P. Lockhart, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: Lowenstein 917-F
Email: slockhart3@fordham.edu
Phone: 212-930-8848
Areas of expertise: international relations, comparative politics, civil wars, conflict and political economy, post-conflict economic transitions, international migration policy

Monika L. McDermott, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, M.A. in Elections and Campaign Management (ECM)
Office: 672 Faber Hall
Email: mmcdermott@fordham.edu
Advising Email (ECM Program): campaigns@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3963
Areas of expertise: American politics, public opinion, congressional elections, women and politics, religion and politics, voting behavior, media and politics, survey research

Casey McNeill, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 674 Faber Hall
Email: cmcneill5@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3952
Areas of expertise: global security, US foreign policy

Zein Murib, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: Martino Hall 424
Email: zmurib@fordham.edu
Areas of expertise: Gender and sexuality, interest groups and social movements, marginalized political identities in US politics

Olena Nikolayenko, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies (Rose Hill)
Office: 677 Faber Hall
Email: onikolayenko@fordham.edu
Advising Email: poscadvising@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3961
Areas of expertise: comparative democratization, social movements, public opinion, youth, Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union

Nicholas Tampio, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 665 Faber Hall
Email: tampio@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3962
Areas of expertise: political theory, Islamic political thought, contemporary political theory, Deleuze, Kant

Christopher Toulouse, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Email: toulouse@fordham.edu
Areas of expertise: international studies, politics of cyberspace