Skip to main content

Full-Time Faculty Profiles

Gregory Acevedo
Associate Professor
Director, Baccalaureate Program in Social Work
212-636-6644
gracevedo@fordham.edu
BA, MS, University of Pennsylvania; PhD, Bryn Mawr College
Immigrants and refugees
International social work
Latinos

Binta Alleyne-Green
Assistant Professor
212-636-6778
balleynegreen@fordham.edu
BA, MSW, Clark Atlanta University; PhD, University of Tennessee
Impact of dating/relationship violence
Intersection of violence and HIV risk behaviors among inner-city minority adolescent females

Dana Alonzo
Associate Professor
914-367-3014
dalonzo1@fordham.edu
BA, MSW, NYU; PhD, Fordham University
Mood disorders and suicide attempt
Suicide prevention and intervention
Treatment engagement and adherence

Cathy Berkman
Associate Professor
Director, Palliative Care Fellowship
Chair of Research Area
212-636-6662
berkman@fordham.edu
BS, University of Vermont; MSW, Boston University; PhD, Yale University
Palliative Care
Aging

Robert Chazin
Professor
212-636-6673
chazin@fordham.edu
BA, CUNY (City College); MSW, Columbia University; DSW, Case Western Reserve University
International social work development
Mental health training and consultation
Clinical practice with individuals, families, and groups
Brief treatment

Matthew Chin
Assistant Professor
212-636-6627
mchin17@fordham.edu
BA, University of Toronto; MSW, PhD, University of Michigan
Urban Ethnography
Community Organizing
Political Economy
Race and ethnicity
Gender and Sexuality

Daniel Coleman
Associate Professor
212-636-6690
dcoleman11@fordham.edu
BA, University of Massachusetts; MSW, Smith College; PhD, University of California
Suicide and suicide prevention
Psychotherapy process, depression and PTSD

Elaine Congress
Associate Dean and Professor
212-636-6667
congress@fordham.edu
BA, Brown University; MAT, Yale University; MSW, Columbia University; MA, New School for Social Research; DSW, CUNY (Hunter)
Ethics
Cultural diversity
Clinical practice
Social work education

Carole B. Cox
Professor
212-636-6649
ccox@fordham.edu
BA, California (Berkeley); MSW, Virginia Commonwealth; PhD, Maryland

Helen M. Crohn
Clinical Associate Professor
212-636-6633
crohn@fordham.edu
BFA, Pratt Institute; MFA, RIT, MSS, Bryn Mawr School of Social Work; DSW, Adelphi
Clinical practice with individuals, couples, and families
Divorce and remarried families
Social work practice and sexuality
Post-professional social work education: efficacy and curriculum

Maddy Cunningham
Associate Professor
212-636-6797
cunningham@fordham.edu
BA, Queens College; MSW, DSW, Adelphi
Clinical Practice
Trauma
Vicarious Traumatization
Spirituality

Chris Curtis
Assistant Professor
212-636-7077
ccurtis5@fordham.edu
BS, Jackson State University; MSW, PhD, Tulane University
Adolescent Mental Health
School Social Work

Jordan DeVylder
Associate Professor
Phone: 212-636-6638
jdevylder@fordham.edu
MSSW, MPhil, PhD, Columbia University, Social Work
MS, Georgia Institute of Technology, Cognitive and Brain Sciences
BA, New York University, Psychology

G. Lawrence Farmer
Associate Professor
212-636-7081
farmer@fordham.edu
BA, MSW, University of Pittsburgh; PhD, Florida International University
Integrating research and practice
Quantitative research methods
School social work practice
Youth risk and resiliency

Mary Ann Forgey
Professor
212-636-6642
forgey@fordham.edu
BA, MSW, Boston College; PhD, Columbia University
Intimate partner violence
Evidence based assessment
Military social work
International social work

Shirley Gatenio Gabel
Professor
212-636-6659
gateniogabe@fordham.edu
BA, Bryn Mawr College; MS, MPh, PhD, Columbia University
International comparative child and family policy
Early childhood programs and policies
Implementation of public policies

Lauri Goldkind
Associate Professor
212-636-6632
goldkind@fordham.edu
BA, Rollins College; MSW, SUNY Stony Brook, PhD, Yeshiva University

Janna C. Heyman
Professor, Henry C. Ravazzin Chair
914-367-3030
heyman@fordham.edu
BA, SUNY (Brockport); MSW, PhD, Fordham University
Research
Healthcare planning
Geriatrics

Warren Dana Holman
Clinical Associate Professor
212-636-6636
holman@fordham.edu
BA, Tufts University; MSW, Fordham; DSW, CUNY (Hunter)

Amy Horowitz
Professor
Nicholas J. Langenfeld Chair in Social Research
212-636-6708
ahorowitz2@fordham.edu
MSW, Fordham; PhD, Columbia University
Aging
Family support and relationships
Disability
Depression

Barbara Kail
Associate Professor
212-636-6651
kail@fordham.edu
BA, Bryn Mawr; MS, DSW, Columbia University
Research methodology
Substance abuse
Relationships

Rachelle E. Kammer
Clinical Associate Professor
212-636-6660
kammer@fordham.edu
BA, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee; MSW, PhD, Columbia University
Women, trauma, and addiction
Adolescent mental health
Working with faith-based communities identifying, facilitating mental health treatment
Mental health education and screening of older adults

David E. Koch
Clinical Associate Professor
Director, Bachelors Degree in Social Work
212-636-6656
koch@fordham.edu
BA, University of California(Berkeley); MSW, Fordham University; PhD, CUNY (Graduate Center)
Stress, coping and social support
HIV/AIDS Policy and practice
Lesbian and gay health/mental health
Hardiness and resilience in social work practice

Winnie W. Kung
Associate Professor
212-636-6635
kung@fordham.edu
BSoc Sc, University of Hong Kong; MSW. Washington University at St. Louis; PhD University of Chicago
Mental health issues with Asian Americans
Family systems
Caregivers of mentally ill patients
Depression

Ji Seon Lee
Associate Dean and Associate Professor
914-367-3015
jilee@fordham.edu
BA, SUNY (Stony Brook); MPA, MSSW, PhD, Columbia University
Aging policy
Health and long term care
Managed care

Anita Lightburn
Professor
Director, Beck Institute on Religion and Poverty
914-367-3436
lightburn@fordham.edu
BA, Wheaton College, MSS, M Ed, EdD, Columbia University
Mental Health and Child Welfare
Family Support, School-based Practice
Capacity Building in Faith Communities
Program Evaluation and Research
Community-based clinical practice

Dana B. Marlowe
Clinical Associate Professor
914-367-3106
marlowe@fordham.edu
BA, State University at Binghamton; MSW, SUNY, Buffalo; PhD, Fordham
Social welfare policy
HIV/AIDS
Teaching

Tina Maschi
Associate Professor
212-636-6640
tmaschi@fordham.edu
BA, Douglas College; MSW, PhD, Rutgers University
Life Course Trauma and Stress, Coping, and Well-Being (Victims and/or Offenders)
Interdisciplinary Practice/Forensic Social Work (particularly, the practice intersection that involves Aging, Physical and Mental Health, and Criminal Justice)
Human Rights and Social Justice: The Translation to Research and Practice
The Use of Arts and Alternative Interventions for Individual and Social Change and Well-Being (e.g., Recreational Drumming)

Manoj Pardasani
Senior Associate Dean and Associate Professor
212-636-6612
mpardasani@fordham.edu
BA, University of Mumbai; MSW, PhD,Yeshiva University
Aging
Community-based Organizations and Practice Models
Human Services Leadership and Administration

Rose M. Perez
Associate Professor
212-636-6626
roperez@fordham.edu
BA, Boston University; MBA, University of Michigan; MA, PhD University of Chicago
Immigration
Acculturation and emotional well-being
Adolescents and families
Hispanics

Cynthia Cannon Poindexter
Associate Professor
914-367-3103
poindexter@fordham.edu
HIV/AIDS
Management
Community Practice
Gerontology

Marciana Popescu
Associate Professor
914-367-3437
popescu@fordham.edu
BSW, MA, University of Bucharest; MSW, Tulane University; PhD, University of Bucherest
Social policy
Macropractice
Family violence
Program evaluation/evaluation research

Howard Robinson
Clinical Associate Professor
914-367-3439
hrobinson@fordham.edu
BA, MA, Columbia University; MSW, Fordham University; DSW, CUNY
Social Work Curriculum Development
International Social Work
Advanced Clinical Practice
Trauma and Disaster Recovery
Individual and Family Treatment
Children and Families

Abigail Ross
Assistant Professor
212-636-6652
aross28@fordham.edu
BA, University of Notre Dame; MPH, MSW, PhD, Boston University
Intervention Research
Children and Families
Mental Health
Public Health Social Work
Prevention and Health Promotion
Implementation Science

Yvette Sealy
Associate Professor
212-636-6679
sealy@fordham.edu
BA, MSW, CUNY (Hunter); PhD, Fordham
Clinical practice
Substance use with Hispanic and African American population
Differential diagnosis with minority groups

Lyn Kennedy Slater
Clinical Associate Professor
212-636-6674
lslater@fordham.edu
MSW, Hunter; MA, SUNY Albany School of Criminal Justice; PhD, CUNY Graduate and University Center
Child welfare workforce development
Social justice for families and children
Evidence-based practice for families and children involved in the legal system

Judith R. Smith
Associate Professor
212-636-6643
jsmith@fordham.edu
BA, Antioch College; MSW, Adelphi, PhD, Columbia
Intergenerational family relationships
Gerontology
Elder abuse
Early child development

Virginia C. Strand
Professor
212- 367-3435
strand@fordham.edu
BA, Macalester; MSW, Catholic University; DSW, Columbia University
Child abuse
Women's issues
Mental health
Law

Sandra Turner
Associate Professor
Director, Institute for Women and Girls
212-636-6622
sturner@fordham.edu
BA, Northwestern; MSW, Fordham; PhD, Rutgers
Substance abuse
Prevention
Adolescent Hispanic females

Edgar H. Tyson
Associate Professor
212-636-6645
tyson@fordham.edu
BS, MSW, Barry University; PhD, University of Tennessee
Culturally competent mental health assessment
Culturally competent intervention with youth
Youth culture in intervention
Juvenile delinquency

Laura Wernick
Assistant Professor
212-636-6650
lwernick@fordham.edu
BA, University of California, Berkeley; MSW, MPA, Columbia University; MA, PhD, University of Michigan
Transformative Community Organizing Models
Domestic Worker & Employer Movement for Dignified Care & Justice
LGBTQ Youth Organizing & Empowerment
Models for Organizing People with Power & Privilege
Community-Based Participatory Action Research

Fuhua Zhai
Associate Professor
212-636-3966
fzhai1@fordham.edu
BA, China Youth College for Political Sciences; MSW, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; MPhil, PhD, Columbia University
Early childhood interventions and developmental outcomes
Cultural values, child maltreatment and child welfare
Experiential and statistical research methods