Skip to main content

GRE Faculty

Educating in Faith for Solidarity, Service, and Justice

In 1959, a small group of Jesuits at Fordham founded the Graduate School of Religion and Religious Education. Having read the signs of the times, they reframed religious education and pastoral ministry with an innovative approach and an adaptive structure that inspire and inform the work of our faculty to this day.

Core Faculty

Anderson from GRE

C. Colt Anderson, Ph.D.

Professor of Church History
Keating Hall Room 303M
coltanderson@fordham.edu


Professor Thomas Beaudoin

Thomas Beaudoin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Religion
Keating Hall Room 303H
tbeaudoin@fordham.edu


Kirk Bingaman

Kirk A. Bingaman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Pastoral Counseling
Keating Hall Room 303E
bingaman@fordham.edu


Professor Lisa Cataldo

Lisa Cataldo, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pastoral Counseling
Keating Hall Room 303D
lcataldo@fordham.edu


Dean Cruz from GRE

Faustino M. Cruz, S.M., Ph.D.

Dean
Professor of Practical Theology
Keating Hall Room 303
fcruz16@fordham.edu

Dennis Gunn

Dennis Gunn, CFC, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Religious Education
Keating Hall Room 303L
dgunn1@fordham.edu


George Hong, CRO

Z. George Hong, Ph.D.

Professor
Cunniffe House 219
Zhong4@fordham.edu

Professor Harold H. Horell

Harold H. Horell, Ph.D.

Director, Ph.D. in Religious Education Program
Assistant Professor of Religious Education
Keating Hall Room 303J
horell@fordham.edu


Professor Shannon M. McAlister

Shannon M. McAlister, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Spirituality
Keating Hall Room 303N
smcalister@fordham.edu


McAloon from GRE

Francis X. McAloon, SJ, Ph.D.

Director, Doctor of Ministry Program
Associate Professor of Spirituality
Keating Hall Room 303G
fmcaloon@fordham.edu


Dr. Mary Beth Werdel

Mary Beth Werdel, Ph.D.

Director, Pastoral Counseling and Spiritual Care Program
Associate Professor of Pastoral Counseling
Keating Hall Room 303F
mwerdel@fordham.edu

Emeritus Faculty

John Elias, Ed.D.

Professor Emeritus of Religious Education

 

Part-Time Faculty

Robert Camargo, Ph.D.
Pastoral Care and Counseling

Giovanna Czander, Ph.D.
Scripture

Luz Marina Diaz, Ph.D.
Spirituality

Rev. Frank Donio, D.Min.
Pastoral Ministry

Donna Fannon, MTh
Spirituality

Cheryl Fisher, Ph.D.
Pastoral Counseling

Barbara Kapetanakes, Psy.D.
Pastoral Care and Counseling

Aloysius Kelley, S.J., Ph.D.
Greek

Thomas McCoog, S.J., Ph.D.
Spiritual Direction

Brendan McInerny, Ph.D.
Religious Education

Joseph Petriello, Ph.D.
Religious Education

Carl Procario-Foley, PhD.
Religious Education

Donna Shannon, PhD.
Pastoral Counseling

Chad Thralls, Ph.D.
Spirituality

Valerie Torres, Ph.D.
Religious Education

Linda Woodbine, Ph.D.
Pastoral Counseling