Skip to main content

Institutional Biosafety Committee

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

The IBC reviews, approves and provides surveillance of all research protocols involving the use of biohazardous materials including recombinant DNA, agents infectious to humans, animals or plants, and other genetically altered organisms and agents.

Committee Members

Patricio Meneses Chair of IBC, Biological Sciences
Craig Frank Biological Sciences 
Stephen Holler  Physics
Haruka Minami Psychology
Joan Roberts Natural Science
Berish Rubin Biological Sciences
Paul Smith Chemistry



Pathogenic Agent (human, non-primate, animal, plant) Protocol

Recombinant DNA Protocol 


Additional Resources

National Institutes of Health Institutional Biosafety Committee