Skip to main content

CIS Faculty Review

Faculty and Contacts

Chair's Office Rose Hill
340 John Mulcahy Hall Bronx, NY 10458 | Phone: 718-817-4480

Department Chair
Dr. Xiaolan Zhang | JMH 340B - LL 610F | 718-817-4480 | xzhang@fordham.edu

Graduate Program Directors

MS in Computer Science
Dr. Damian Lyons | JMH 320 | mscs@fordham.edu

MS in Data Analytics
Dr. Yijun Zhao | LL 610E | msda@fordham.edu

MS in Cybersecurity
Dr. Thaier Hayajneh | JMH 333 | mscy@fordham.edu

Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies (Rose Hill)
Dr. Daniel Leeds | JMH 332 | dleeds@fordham.edu

Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies (Lincoln Center)
Dr. Arthur Werschulz | LL 610D | werschulz@fordham.edu

Department Staff

Department Administrator
Palma A. Sisca | JMH 340 - LL 610G | psisca@fordham.edu

System Administrator
Robert Kudyba | JMH 329 | 718-817-4493| rkudyba@fordham.edu

Rose Hill Center Secretary
Alexandra Medure | JMH 340 | 718-817-4480 | amedure@fordham.edu

Lincoln Center Secretary
Eliane A. Victoria | LL 813 | 718-636-6310 | evictoria@fordham.edu

Faculty and Staff

Habib M. Ammari, Associate Professor
PhD (CS), Faculty of Sciences of Tunis; PhD (CSE), University of Texas at Arlington
Wireless Sensor Networks, Applied Cryptography, Cybersecurity, Physical Security, Computational Geometry.
Office: JMH 336 (RH) | Phone: 718-817-4481 | hammari@fordham.edu

Md Zakirul Alam Bhuiyan, Assistant Professor
PhD degree , MEng degree in Computer Science and Technology from CSU
Dependability, Cyber Security, Big Data, Cloud Computing, and Internet of Things
Office: JMH 336A (RH) | Phone: 718-817-0582 | mbhuiyan3@fordham.edu

Henry Han, Associate Professor
PhD, Applied Mathematics and Computational Sciences, University of Iowa, 2004
Bioinformatics, Computational Biology, Systems Biology, Data Mining, Machine Learning, Statistical Learning, High-performance Computing and Financial Engineering
Office: LL 610A (LC) | Phone: 212-636-6213 | xhan9@fordham.edu

Julie Harazduk, Lecturer
Email: jharazduk@fordham.edu

Thaier Hayajneh, Associate Professor
PhD, University of Pittsburgh
Applied Cryptography, Network Security and Privacy
Office: 333 (RH) , 808F (LC) | Phone: 718-817-4482, 212-636-7785 | Email: thayajneh@fordham.edu

Frank Hsu, Clavius Professor
PhD, University of Michigan
Interconnection Networks for Massively Parallel Computer systems, Communication Networks and VLSI Designs, Parallel Algorithms and Architectures, Telecommunication Network Design and Optimization, Graph Theory and Combinatorial problems.
Office: JMH 402A (RH) | Phone: 718-817-4483 | hsu@cis.fordham.edu

Nikitas Kounavelis, Lecturer
Email: nkounavelis@fordham.edu

Daniel Leeds, Assistant Professor
PhD, Carnegie Mellon University
Computational Principles of Perception, Statistical Analysis of Brain Data, Computer Vision, Machine Learning
Office: JMH 332 (RH) , 808F (LC) | Phone: 718-817-5196 | Email: leeds@cis.fordham.edu

Yanjun Li, Associate Professor
PhD, Wright State University
Text Mining, Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery, Ontology, Information Retrieval, Bioinformatics Analysis, Parallel and Distributed Computing
Office: JMH 402B (RH) | Phone: 718-817-0505 | Email: yli@cis.fordham.edu

Zigeng Liu, Lecturer
Email:  zliu699@gmail.com
Office: JMH 308B (RH)

Damian Lyons, Professor, Director of the MS Program in Data Analytics
PhD, University of Massachusetts
Target tracking and behavior recognition in Automated Video Surveillance and in Camera-based User Interfaces. Computer vision for Virtual and Augmented Reality Interfaces. Formal analysis of behavior for robotic systems operating in unstructured environments. Integration of planning and reaction in robotic systems.
Office: JMH 320 (RH) | Phone: 718-817-4485 | Email: dlyons@cis.fordham.edu

Truong-Huy D. Nguyen, Assistant Professor
PhD, National University of Singapore
Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Data Visualization, Human Computer Interaction.
Office: JMH 402C (RH) | Phone: 718-817-3522 | Email: tnguyen88@fordham.edu

Robert K. Moniot, Associate Dean, Lincoln Center
PhD (Physics), University of California, Berkeley; MS (Computer Science), New York University
Accelerator-based mass spectrometry of radioisotopes, applied to archeology, geophysics and meteoritics. Scale-space and equation-error minimization approaches to problems in image reconstruction and solution of partial differential equations. Analysis of computer ethics issues.
Office: LL 821-A (LC) | Phone: 212-636-6302 | Email: moniot@cis.fordham.edu

Tadeusz Strzemecki, Assistant Professor 
PhD, Stevens Institute of Technology
Design and Analysis of Algorithms, Computational Complexity, Complexity of Algorithms, Theory of Computation.
Office: LL 610-B (LC) | Phone: 212-636-6332 | Email: ts@dsm.fordham.edu

Karen Trovato, Lecturer
PhD , University of Amsterdam; MS, New York University 
Path Planning, Algorithms, Medical Informatics
Office: JMH 308B (RH) | Email: ktrovato@fordham.edu

David S.L. Wei, Professor
PhD, University of Pennsylvania
Parallel and Distributed Computing, Mobile Computing, and Networking.
Office: JMH 328 (RH) | Phone: 718-817-4497 | Email: wei@cis.fordham.edu

Gary M. Weiss, Associate Professor in Computer Science
PhD, Rutgers University
Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning and Data Mining
Office: JMH 308A (RH) | Phone: 718-817-0785/5280 | Email: gaweiss@fordham.edu

Arthur G. Werschulz, Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies, Professor
PhD, Carnegie-Mellon University
Information-based complexity (the complexity of partial differential equations and integral equations)
Office: LL 610-D (LC) | Phone: 212-636-6325 | Email: agw@cis.fordham.edu

Lawrence Wolk, Lecturer
Office: JMH 303 (RH) and LL 813 | Phone: 718-817-5208 | Email: wolk@fordham.edu

Xiaolan Zhang, Chair & Associate Professor
PhD, University of Massachusetts, 2007
Computer Networks and Distributed Systems.
Office: JMH 340A (RH) | Phone: 718-817-4484 | Email: xhang@fordham.edu

Yijun Zhao, Assistant Professor and Program Director of M.S. Data Analytics (MSDA)
PhD, Tufts University
Machine Learning, Data Mining, Statistical Pattern Recognition, Algorithms
Office: LL 610E | Phone: 212-636-7816 | Email: yzhao11@fordham.edu

Lisha Zhou, Lecturer
Email: lzhou@fordham.edu
 

Adjunct and Affiliated Faculty

Paolina Centonze
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: pcentonze@fordham.edu

Anthony Duhaime Candeias
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: aduhaimecandeias@fordham.edu

Dino Cataldo Dell'Accio
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: cdellaccio1@fordham.edu

James Doyle
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: jdoyle26@fordham.edu

Stephen Flatley
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: sflatley1@fordham.edu

Ravi Tanikella
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: rtanikella@fordham.edu

Tanweer Akram
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: takram@fordham.edu

Robert Alpert
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: alpert@cis.fordham.edu

Josephine Brenda Altzman 
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: jaltzman@fordham.edu

Silvio Balzano
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: sbalzano@fordham.edu

Alim Buksh
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: abuksh@fordham.edu

Kenneth Cavanagh
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: kcavanagh1@fordham.edu

George Chan
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: gchan4@fordham.edu

Zecheng Chang
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: zhang@cis.fordham.edu

Zhixiong Chen
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: zchen74@fordham.edu

Jose Deleon
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: deleon@fordham.edu

Jeremy Drysdale
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: drysdale@fordham.edu

Wael Hibri
Office: JMH 308B (RH) | Email: hibri@fordham.edu

Zhou Ji
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: zji@fordham.edu

Michael Kadri
Email: mkadri1@fordham.edu

Fawad Khan
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: fkhan36@fordham.edu

Michael Konefal
Email: mkonefal1@fordham.edu

Ruta Kruliauskaite
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: rkruliauskaite@fordham.edu

Vincent R. Mierlak
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | E-mail: vmierlak@fordham.edu

Tsung-Ming Liu
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: tliu17@fordham.edu

Lucie Mingla
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email:  lmingla@fordham.edu

Kevin Muller
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: kemuller@fordham.edu

Kazi Obaidullah
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: kobaidullah@fordham.edu

Subramaniam Palamadai
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: spalamadai@fordham.edu

Georgios Papadopoulos
Office: LL 812 (RH) | Email:  gpapadopoulos1@fordham.edu

Luigi Patruno
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: lpatruno@fordham.edu

Marco Pistoia
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: mpistoia@fordham.edu

Rolf Ryham
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: rryham@fordham.edu

Erik Schomburg 
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: eschomberg@gmail.com

Marlon Seaton
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: mseaton@fordham.edu

Kanchan Thaokar
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: kthaokar@fordham.edu

Roger Tsai
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: tsai@cis.fordham.edu

Carlos Zena
Office: JMH 340 (RH) | Email: czena@fordham.edu