GSE Administration and Staff

The Fordham University administration and staff that lead the Graduate School of Education departments are key to our student-centered educational environment. They assist you as you apply to the degree programs, and they provide ongoing guidance and advisement as you progress through your program. They set up your classes, arrange your field placements, facilitate your research, and ensure that the activities of the school run smoothly. They administer the programs and provide careful attention so you’ll feel empowered, cared for, and challenged to pursue a meaningful career.

  • Jose' Luis Alvarado, Ph.D., GSE Dean

    José Luis Alvarado

    Dean, Graduate School of Education
    Email: alvarado@fordham.edu

    Education: Ph.D. in special education, University of Virginia; M.A. in special education, San Diego State University; B.A. in psychology, San Diego State University. Dean Alvarado also holds California Learning Handicapped Specialist and Multiple Subject Bilingual teaching credentials. 

    José Luis Alvarado, Ph.D., assumed the position of dean of the Graduate School of Education effective July 1, 2021. He previously served as provost and vice president for academic affairs at Cal State Los Angeles, founding dean of the College of Education at California State University Monterey Bay, and associate dean of the College of Education at San Diego State University.

    Alvarado is an administrative leader who describes his leadership style as a combination of collaborative leadership and shared governance where the faculty will have input, and in leading by example, a servant leader. He is looking forward to collaborating with the faculty to establish a collective understanding of the direction and goals for the school and building pathways to more interdisciplinary work within the school and across the university. He seeks to become actively engaged in program development and delivery, and positively impact student outcomes.



    Office of the Dean

    Carolyn Velazquez-Atis
    Administrative Assistant to the Dean
    Room 1121
    212-636-6409
    velazquezat@fordham.edu

    Delia Smith
    Executive Secretary
    Room 1121
    212-636-6411
    dsmith163@fordham.edu
    Dean's Office

    Anisa Torres-Sanchez
    Director of Financial Aid
    Room 1120B
    212-636-7611
    anitorres@fordham.edu

    Joan Colasuonno
    Budget Administrator
    Room 1120E
    212-636-6767
    jcolasuonno1@fordham.edu

    Teresa Colmenares
    Director of Assessment and Institutional Research
    45 Columbus, Room
    207 212-636-7649
    colmenares@fordham.eduOffice of Assessment/Dean's Office

     

  • Curriculum and Teaching Division
    Chun Zhang
    Division Chair and Professor, Curriculum and Teaching
    113 West 60th Street
    Room 1102A
    czhang@fordham.edu
    212-636-7236
     
    Karen Andronico
    Director of Field-Based Education and Accountability
    Room 1102-E
    andronico@fordham.edu212-636-6491

    James Welch
    Executive Assistant
    Room 1102
    jwelch12@fordham.edu212-636-6450

    Psychological and Educational Services
    Fran Blumberg, Ph.D.
    Division Chair, Psychological and Educational Services
    Professor, Counseling Psychology
    113 West 60th Street
    Lowenstein 1012B
    212-636-6484
    blumberg@fordham.edu
     
    Elizabeth Casey
    Director of Field-Based Experience and Accountability
    Room 1008E
    elcasey@fordham.edu
     
    Nataliya Kosovskaya
    Executive Secretary
    Room 1012
    kosovskaya@fordham.edu
    212-636-6477

    Natasha Rambarran
    Office Assistant
    Room 1012
    rambarran@fordham.edu
    212-636-6460

    Educational Leadership, Administration, and Policy Division
    Margaret Terry Orr, Ph.D.
    Division Chair and Professor, Educational Leadership, Administration, and Policy
    113 W. 60th Street
    Room 1119D
    Phone: 212-636-6432
    Fax: 212-636-7875
    Email: morr4@fordham.edu
     
    Stanley Kaminsky
    Coordinator of Field Internships Adjunct Professor
    Room 1119A
    kaminsky@fordham.edu
    212-636-6437
     
    Linda Negron
    Executive Secretary, Educational Leadership, Administration, and Policy
    Room 1119
    lnegron@fordham.edu
    212-636-6430
  • Abraham Johnson
    Director of Admissions and Enrollment Services
    45 Columbus, 2nd Floor
    212-636-6401
    ajohnson183@fordham.edu

    Nanette Michel
    Executive Secretary
    45 Columbus, 2nd Floor
    212-636-6404
    212-636-6400
    amichel@fordham.edu
    Admissions

    Alicia Bowen
    Executive Secretary
    45 Columbus, 2nd Floor
    646-312-8745
    212-636-6400
    abowen@fordham.edu

    Matthew A. Sawh
    Director, Advanced Placement Institutes
    212-636-7235
    212-636-7275
    msawh1@fordham.eduapinstitutes@fordham.edu

  • Anita Vazquez-BatistiAnita Batisti

    Research Areas: Arts in Education, Educational Media

    Associate Dean for Educational Partnerships
    Email: abatisti@fordham.edu
    Education: B.A., CUNY (Baruch College); M.S., CUNY (Hunter College); Ph.D., Fordham University

    During the course of her career, Anita Batisti, Ph.D., has served as an administrator, educator and development specialist for New York City Community School Districts, The New York City Department of Education, Fordham University, Pace University, New York University, The United States Department of Education, The Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, and various not-for-profit organizations.

    She is an experienced, knowledgeable administrator and fundraiser who understands the complexities and subtleties of the New York City school system, related service providers, and empowered networks. She has raised over $200 million from public and private sources.

    Associate Dean Batisti is the founding Director of the Center for Educational Partnerships, which serves over 700 schools, 1,000 K-12 teachers, 100 administrators, and 60,000 students in New York State.

    Associate Dean Batisti oversees three New York State-funded technical assistance centers that focus on national origin, equity, and access. She is also the CEO of the Fordham University Partnership Support Organization (PSO), serving as the leader of only one of two universities in New York City in this exclusive network of service providers.


     

    Alejandro Caycedo
    Operations and Finance Specialist
    Room 1109
    212-636-7363
    acaycedo@fordham.edu

    Michael E. Pizzingrillo
    Senior Project Associate
    Joseph A. Martino Hall, Room 722
    212-636-7120
    pizzingrillo@fordham.edu

    Monica Triana
    Administration Assistant
    Joseph A. Martino Hall, Room 1108
    212-636-7729
    mtriana@fordham.edu

     

     

  • Rachel Eunjoon Um
    Director of Online Learning
    Westchester Campus Room
    233 914-367-3468
    eum@fordham.edu

    Veronica Szczygiel
    Assistant Director for Online Learning
    Room 1102-H
    212-636-7546
    vszczygiel@fordham.edu

    Lynn Hooley
    Administrative Program Assistant, ffice of Online Learning
    Westchester Campus Room 234A
    914-367-3012
    lhooley@fordham.edu