Fordham-GSAS Three Minute Thesis Competition

3MT competition logo

Think you have what it takes to present your research and its significance in three minutes?

View the livestream of the 3MT® Competition on Friday, March 24, 2023 | 4 p.m.

Livestream of the 3MT® Competition

GSAS 2019 3MT Competition

Open to all students enrolled in a GSAS master’s or doctoral program, the Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) is a research communication competition developed in 2008 by The University of Queensland in Australia.

The premise of the competition is to develop academic, presentation, and research communication skills. 3MT® supports the development of students’ capacity to explain effectively their research in language appropriate to an intelligent but non-specialist audience. Contestants have three minutes to present compelling orations on their thesis or dissertation research, and its significance and value. One PowerPoint slide is required with no animation permitted. 3MT®is not an exercise in “watering down” research; rather, it forces students to consolidate their ideas and concisely explain their research discoveries. Be inspired -- watch 3MT® presentations from past competition winners!

If you are a current student interested in participating, please review the competition eligibility and rulestraining materials, and judging criteria. For more videos and information about the competition, visit 3MT® at the University of Queensland.

The competition will be held on Friday, March 24, 2023 at the Rose Hill Campus.


3MT® Training Session Wednesday
February 15, 2023
11 a.m. - 12:20 p.m. Campbell Multipurpose Room
3MT® Competition
March 24, 2023
4 - 7 p.m. ET Rose Hill Campus
McShane Center, Room 303


Competition Winner PlacementPrize Amount
First Place $1,000
Second Place $750
Third Place $500
People's Choice
(The audience (in-person and virtual) will vote for the winner during the final round.)

Please direct all 3MT®-related questions to Chelsea Smith, Assistant Dean, Student Professional Development, at [email protected].