Skip to main content

Changes to Spring Academic Calendar Fordham is modifying its academic calendar in anticipation of a national resurgence of the COVID-19 pandemic this winter. Full Details

Modern Languages and Literatures Curriculum

A diverse, multicultural, international, and multilingual faculty with interdisciplinary interests, who are research-active in the US and internationally, and who have distinguished themselves as leading scholars, teachers, and innovators in pedagogy, the Department of Modern Languages and Literatures fosters a participatory learning environment in foreign languages, literatures, linguistics, and cultures to deliver excellent undergraduate education in nine different target languages. 

The Department's undergraduate curriculum understands as its mission the support and advancement of the multilingual, intersectional, and global competencies of its students. The Department prepares students to develop expertise in the following areas beyond language study: cultural studies, eloquentia perfecta (theater, performance, writing, and public speaking), humanitarianism (anthropology & international studies), intercultural theory, linguistics, literatures of the world, literary studies, translation, and visual culture/film.  With majors and minors in seven different languages, it has courses that intersect between the humanities, the arts, the sciences, the social sciences, and even business. An increasing number of courses offered in the department also satisfy important attributes in Fordham's core, whether EPs, ICC, G, P, or Advance Disciplinary courses.

At present, students can major in modern languages with options in French, German, Italian, or Spanish. They may also minor in Arabic, French, German, Italian, Mandarin Chinese, Russian, or Spanish. Students also have the option of taking modern Hebrew and Japanese language courses.

Courses are designed to offer students extended study of the language, literature, and cultures of these language communities.

Upper Level Courses Spring 2021

Arabic

 ARAB 3000 - Topics in Arabic Cultures (L-01)
CRN: 41505
Prof: Dr. Mohamed Rahman (mabdelrahman1@fordham.edu)
TF: 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m.

ARAB 3040 - Topics in Arabic Literature (R01)
CRN: 43212
Prof: Dr. Mohamed A. Alsiadi (malsiadi@fordham.edu)
TWF: 09:30- 10:20 a.m.

French

FREN 2600 - France: Lit., Hist., Civ. (L01)
CRN: 41503
Prof.  Andrew H. Clark (anclark@fordham.edu)
MR 02:30 - 3:45 p.m.

FREN 2600 -  France: Lit., Hist., Civ. (R-01)
CRN: 43648
Prof: Dr. Lise Schreier (lschreier@fordham.edu)
MR 11:30 p.m. - 12:45 p.m.

FREN 3005 - French Business Culture (R-01)
CRN: 43649
Prof: Hélène Godec (hgodec@fordham.edu)
W 11:30 - 02:15 p.m.

FREN 3564 - French Theatre and Performance (R-01)
CRN: 43650
Prof: Hélène Godec (hgodec@fordham.edu)
T 2:30 - 5:15 p.m.

FREN 3637 - Francophone Middle East  (R-01)
CRN: 43651
Prof: Dr. Lise Schreier (lschreier@fordham.edu)
MR 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

FREN 3675 - America! French Perspectives (R-01)
CRN: 43652
Prof: Dr. Audrey Evrard (aevrard@fordham.edu)
MR 04:00 - 05:15 p.m.

 

German

GERM 3520 - German Culture in Context (R-01)
CRN: 41369
Prof: Dr. Marianne Washburn (mwashburn1@fordham.edu)
TF 11:30 - 12:45 p.m.

GERM 5002 - Grad. Readg. in German II (R-01)
CRN: 17960
Prof: Dr. Susanne Hafner (hafner@fordham.edu)
TF 11:30 - 12:45 p.m.

Hebrew

N/A

Italian

ITAL 2705 - The Souths of Italy (R-01)
CRN: 43747
Prof: Dr. Francesca Parmeggiani (parmeggiani@forham.edu)
TF 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

ITAL 3125 - Maginficence & Culture (L-01)
CRN: 42874
Prof: Dr. Alessandro Polcri (polcri@fordham.edu)
TF 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m.

 

Linguistics

LING 2675 - Sounds of New York (R-01)
CRN: 43763
Prof: Dr. Britta Ingebretson (bingebretson@fordham.edu)
MR 2:30 - 3:45 p.m.

LING 3035 - Gender and China (R-01)
CRN: 43764
Prof: Dr. Britta Ingebretson (bingebretson@fordham.edu)
MR 11:30 - 12:45 p.m.

Mandarin Chinese

MAND 3015 - Mandarin Music and Songs (R-01)
CRN: 43769
Prof. Dr. Xinran Dong (xdong2@fordham.edu)
TF 11:30 - 12:45 p.m.

Modern Languages and Literatures (MLAL)

MLAL 2000 - Texts abd Contexts (R-01)
CRN: 43822
Prof: Dr. Kathleen LaPenta (klapentalong@fordham.edu)
MR 2:30-3:45 p.m. 

MLAL 3047 - Chinese Culture (L-01)
CRN: 42908
Prof: Dr. Yiju Huang (yhuang139@fordham.edu)
TF 11:30 - 12:45 p.m.

MLAL 3095 - Apocalypse: Revelations (L-01)
CRN: 39427
Prof: Dr. Michael M. Ossorgin VIII (mossorginviii@fordham.edu)
MR 10:00-11:15

MLAL 3440 - Arabic Lit in Engl Translation (R-01)
CRN: 43823
Prof: Dr. Mohamed Alsiadi  (malsiadi@fordham.edu)
TF 2:30 - 3:45 p.m.

MLAL- 3535 - Building the Ideal City (R-01)
CRN: 43824
Prof: Dr. Susanna Barsella (barsella@fordham.edu)
MR 11:30-12:45

MLAL 3624 - Music&Nation in the Arab World (L-01)
CRN: 41509
Prof: Dr. Mohamed Abdel Rahman (mabdelrahman1@fordham.edu )
TF 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

MLAL 3701 - Villians, Vamps and Vampires (R-01)
CRN: 43825
Prof: Dr. Maria Ebner (mebner1@fordham.edu)
TF 2:30-3:45

MLAL 4005 - Queer Theory and the Americas (L-01)
CRN: 41510
Prof: Dr. Arnaldo Cruz-Malave (cruzmalave@fordham.edu)
MW 1:00 - 2:15 p.m.

 

Russian

N/A

Spanish

SPAN 2201 - Spanish Community Engaged Learning (L-01)
CRN: 43077
Prof: Dr. Carey Kasten (kasten@fordham.edu)
MR 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

SPAN 2301 - Spanish for Heritage Speakers (R-01)
CRN: 44095
Prof: Dr. Miguel Garcia (mgarcia137@fordham.edu)
TF 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

SPAN 2305 - Spanish Conversation and Composition (R-01)
CRN: 44096
Prof: Dr. Patricia Romero (promero@fordham.edu)
TF 11:30 - 12:45 p.m. 

SPAN 2500 - Approaches to Literature (L-01)
CRN: 43078
Prof: Dr. Cynthia Vich (vich@fordham.edu)
MR 10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

SPAN 2500 - Approaches to Literature (R-01)
CRN: 44097
Prof: Dr. Arnaldo Cruz-Malave (cruzmalave@fordham.edu)
TF 01:00 - 02:15 p.m.

SPAN 2500 - Approaches to Literature (R-02)
CRN: 44098
Prof: Dr.  Carl Fischer (cfischer8@fordham.edu)
MR 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. 

SPAN 2500 - Approaches to Literature (R-03)
CRN: 44099
Prof: Dr. Carl Fischer (cfischer8@fordham.edu)
TF 10:00 - 11:15 a.m. 

SPAN 3001 - Spain: Literature and Culture Survey (R-01)
CRN: 44100
Prof: Javier Jiménez-Belmonte (jimenezbelm@fordham.edu)
MR 10:00 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. 

SPAN 3007 - Spanish Linguistics R01
CRN: 44101
Prof: Sarah Grey (sgrey4@fordham.edu)
TF 10:00 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. 

SPAN 3310 - Latin American Science Fiction (R-01)
CRN: 44102
Prof: Dr. Miguel Garcia (mgarcia137@fordham.edu
TF 02:30 - 03:45 p.m.

SPAN 4001 - Cervantes and Don Quixote (R-01)
CRN: 44103
Prof: Dr. Javier Jiménez-Belmonte (jimenezbelm@fordham.edu)
MR 11:30 - 12:45 p.m.

SPAN 4018 - Cuba: Revolution, Lit and Film (R-01)
CRN: 43079
Prof: Dr. Arnaldo Cruz-Malave (cruzmalave@fordham.edu)
TF 10:00 a.m. -11:15 p.m.

SPAN 4100 - Speaking For/As the Other
CRN: 44104
Prof: Dr. Mendez-Clark, Ronald S. (mendezclark@fordham.edu)
MR 01:00 a.m. -02:15 p.m.

Language Course Sequence

All students interested in studying a foreign language at Fordham University may choose either to continue the language studied previously or to begin a new one. Course sequence differ depending on the foreign language students wishes to take.