Skip to main content

Recent Updates Fordham campuses remain physically closed per New York Pause, but all offices are staffed and operating remotely. Full Details


Every year the Comparative Literature Program awards the Katie Fraser Prize for Excellence in Comparative Literature for a thesis written by a Comparative Literature major, and the Literary Studies Prize for Work in Comparative Literature for a thesis written by a Comparative Literature minor. Students present their final projects at the traditional end-of-year Senior Project Roundtable.

The Katie Fraser Prize is named after Katie Fraser, a 1989 graduate of Fordham College at Lincoln Center. She was an outstanding student in the Comparative Literature program. She was working toward a doctorate in Comparative Literature when she passed away in October 1993. This award is made in her honor.

Recipients of Comparative Literature awards include:
KFP - Katie Fraser Prize
LSP - Literary Studies Prize

2019 KFP - Kathryn Parker (FCLC), “Alterity and Empathy: Stream of Consciousness in the Works of Virginia Woolf and Agnès Varda”

2018 KFP - Marsh Porée (FCLC), “Dogs”

2017 KFP - Margaret Fisher (FCLC), “In the Room: Elephants as Complex and Uncooperative Tools of the Western Literary Tradition”

2016 KFP - Wallis Monday (FCLC), “How the West Was Wanting”

LSP - Matthew Schlesinger (FCRH), “Subject, Object, Citizen: Ugly Feelings and Resistance in Claudia Rankine’s American Lyric.”

2014 KFP - Pamela Zazzarino (FCRH), “Multilingual Texts: The Effects of French Language and Culture in Baldwin and Rhys.”

LSP - Xavier Griffiths (FCRH), “Beyond the Blood: Reexamining the Parallels Between Edgar Allan Poe and Akutagawa Ryunosuke.”

2013 KFP - Leila Nabizadeh (FCRH), “The Exodus of Language: Linguistic Diversity and Migration in Southeast Asian Literature.”

2011 KFP - William Brewer (FCLC), “William Blake in the Radical '90s: Body Politic(s) and Aesthetic Practice.”

2011 KFP - Mike Haskins (FCRH), “Negotiation and Subversion in Tsitsi Dangarembga's Nervous Conditions.”

2010 KFP - Elizabeth B. Walle (FCRH), “The Man Without Qualities: Questions of Truth and Self from Musil to Facebook.”

2009 KFP - Erin C. Rauch-Sasseen (FCRH), “Walter Benjamin's Playground or The City, Surrealism and Childhood Space: Passages and Thresholds in Benjamin, Breton and Cocteau.”

2008 KFP - Ashley K. Miller (FCRH), “Fragmentation and the Interrupted Narrative: Primo Levi, Art Spiegelman, and Distorted Memories of the Holocaust.”

2007 KFP - Gabrielle Barth (PCS), “Repairing Fragmentation: Reading Hysteria in Charcot and Freud.”

2006 KFP - Jenny Bobea (FCRH), “Literature and Politics: The Case of Joaquín Balaguer in the Dominican Republic.”

2006 LSP - Joseph Fanelli (FCRH), “The After-Shock of Shock: Bram Stocker's Dracula and Post-sensian Modernity.”

2003 KFP - Patricia G. Berry (FCLC), “Charlotte InSideOut: The Reordering of Boundaries in the Art of Charlotte Salomon.”

2003 KFP - Corey McAveneey (FCRH), “Pursuing Identity: The Satanic Verses as a Vampiric Intertext of Dracula.”

2002 KFP - Duane Loft (FCLC), “Imitating the Language of Subjectivity: Flaubert's Free Indirect Discourse.”

2002 KFP - Nanor Kenderian (FCLC), “Text as Territory: Armenian Diaspora Literature as Nation-Formation.”

2002 KFP - Stacy M. Torres (FCLC), “An Interdisciplinary Examination of Tourism in Cuba and the Problem of Cuban Identity.”

2001 KFP - Luz Figuereo (FCLC), “The Dominican Diaspora: Redefining National Icons.”

1999 KFP - Christina Lo (FCLC), “Migration and Negotiation: Emergence of the Subject in Happy Days, Uncle Sergio, Annie John, and Lucy.”

1999 KFP - Jeffrey Toohig (FCLC), “Remembering the Future, Imagining the Past: One Hundred Years of Solitude and Christopher Unborn as Historiographical Metafiction.”

1998 KFP - Antonio Barrenechea (FCLC), “To Tell the Tale: The Crisis of Representation in Slaughterhouse-Five.”

1998 KFP - Celia Blumm (FCLC)

1998 KFP - Jennifer L. Hersch (FCLC), “Sly Civility: Action Adventure Film as Colonial Discourse.”

1996 KFP - Elizabeth A. Read (FCLC)

1996 KFP - Patrick Reilly (FCLC)

1994 KFP - Deborah Smith Bernstein (FCLC)