Skip to main content

GRE Faculty

Educating in Faith for Solidarity, Service, and Justice

In 1959, a small group of Jesuits at Fordham founded the Graduate School of Religion and Religious Education. Having read the signs of the times, they reframed religious education and pastoral ministry with an innovative approach and an adaptive structure that inspire and inform the work of our faculty to this day.

Core Faculty

Anderson from GRE

C. Colt Anderson, Ph.D.

Professor of Church History
Keating Hall Room 303M
coltanderson@fordham.edu


Professor Thomas Beaudoin

Thomas Beaudoin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Religion
Keating Hall Room 303H
tbeaudoin@fordham.edu


Kirk Bingaman

Kirk A. Bingaman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Pastoral Mental Health Counseling
Keating Hall Room 303E
bingaman@fordham.edu


Professor Lisa Cataldo

Lisa Cataldo, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pastoral Mental Health Counseling
Keating Hall Room 303D
lcataldo@fordham.edu


Dean Faustino (Tito) Cruz

Faustino M. Cruz, S.M., Ph.D.

Dean
Professor of Practical Theology
Keating Hall Room 303
fcruz16@fordham.edu

Rachelle Green from GRE

Rachelle Green, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Practical Theology and Religious Education
Keating Hall Room 303L
rgreen36@fordham.edu

 


George Hong, CRO

Z. George Hong, Ph.D.

Professor
Cunniffe House 219
Zhong4@fordham.edu

Professor Harold H. Horell

Harold H. Horell, Ph.D.

Director, Ph.D. in Religious Education Program
Assistant Professor of Religious Education
Keating Hall Room 303J
horell@fordham.edu


Professor Shannon M. McAlister

Shannon M. McAlister, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Spirituality
Keating Hall Room 303N
smcalister@fordham.edu


Francis McAloon

Francis X. McAloon, SJ, Ph.D.

Director, Doctor of Ministry Program
Associate Professor of Spirituality
Keating Hall Room 303G
fmcaloon@fordham.edu


Steffano Montano from GRE

Steffano Montano

Visiting Associate Professor of Practical Theology and Religious Education
Keating Hall Room 303N
smontano3@fordham.edu


Dr. Mary Beth Werdel

Mary Beth Werdel, Ph.D.

Director, Pastoral Counseling and Spiritual Care Program
Associate Professor of Pastoral Mental Health Counseling
Keating Hall Room 303F
mwerdel@fordham.edu

Emeritus Faculty

John Elias, Ed.D.

Professor Emeritus of Religious Education

 

Part-Time Faculty

 

Charles Ballard, Ph.D.
Scripture


Susan Conte, Ph.D
Field Placement


Giovanna Czander, Ph.D
Scripture


Luz Marina Diaz, Ph.D.
Spirituality


Alexandria Egler, Ph.D.
Religious Education


Dennis Gunn, CFC, Ph.D.
Religious Education


Barbara Hernandez, PhD.
Pastoral Mental Health Counseling


Barbara Kapetanakes, Psy.D.
Pastoral Mental Health Counseling


Carol McGinnis, Ph.D.
Pastoral Mental Health Counseling


Joseph Petriello, Ph.D.
Religious Education


Donna Shannon, PhD.
Pastoral Mental Health Counseling


Chad Thralls, Ph.D.
Spirituality


Valerie Torres, Ph.D.
Religious Education


Linda Woodbine, Ph.D.
Pastoral Mental Health Counseling