Skip to main content

Board of Trustees

The Fordham University Board of Trustees is currently comprised of 40 members, primarily graduates of the University's various schools or members of their family, and members of the Jesuit community. The President of the University is an ex officio voting member of the Board. The Board, operating under the laws of New York State and by University Statute, is responsible for directing and managing all business and affairs of the University, and is the final authority over all other matters involving the University, including the budget and all changes in tuition and fees and salaries and benefits.

Over the past decade, current and past members of the Board have made significant contributions to Fordham, which has helped establish 14 endowed chairs, 35 endowed or current-use scholarship funds, and has helped fund the construction of new residence halls at Rose Hill and Lincoln Center, the new Law School at Lincoln Center, and the renovation of Hughes Hall.

You may find a listing of current members of the Board, and Emeritus and Trustee Fellows below.

Officers of the Board and President of the University

Robert D. Daleo
Chair of the Board
Retired Vice Chairman, Thomson Reuters

Edward M. Stroz
Vice Chair of the Board
Executive Chairman, Stroz Friedberg LLC

Nora Ahern Grose
Second Vice Chair of the Board

Joseph M. McShane, S.J.
President, Fordham University


Don Almeida
Retired Vice Chairman, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Sally J. Bellet
President & Trustee, Stein-Bellet Foundation

Darryl Emerson Brown
President, Brownboys3 Inc.

James S. Brown
Of Counsel, Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker LLP

Vincent R. Cappucci
Co-Founder, Entwistle & Cappucci, LLP

Donna M. Carroll
President, Dominican University

Michael J. Cosgrove
President, Carragh Consulting, USA

Gerald C. Crotty
President, Weichert Enterprise LLC

Carolyn Dursi Cunniffe
Former Senior Vice President, Cablevision Systems Corporation

Carolyn N. Dolan
Managing Principal, Sampson Capital Advisors, LLC

Christopher F. Fitzmaurice
CFF Asset Management

James P. Flaherty
Founder and Chairman, International Healthcare Investor

MaryAnne Gilmartin
President and CEO, Forest City Ratner Companies

Patricia Heller

Deborah Hirsch

James J. Houlihan
Partner, Houlihan-Parnes Realtors LLC

Darlene Luccio Jordan
Executive Director, The Gerald R. Jordan Foundation

Susheel Kirpalani
Chair, Bankruptcy & Restructuring, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP

Brian W. MacLean
President and COO, The Travelers Companies, Inc.

J. Thomas McClain, S.J.
General Treasurer, Curia of the Society of Jesus

Sylvester McClearn
Managing Director - Head of Business Development, Topeka Capital Markets

Stephen J. McGuinness

Henry S. Miller
Chairman, Marblegate Asset Management

James J. Miracky, S.J.
Assistant to the Provincial for Higher Education, Society of Jesus, USA Northeast Province

Armando Nuñez Jr.
President and CEO, CBS Global Distribution Group

Joseph P. Parkes, S.J.
President, Cristo Rey New York High School

George Quickley, S.J.
Pastor, St. Patrick's Parish

Thomas J. Regan, S.J.
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Associate Professor of Philosophy, Loyola University Chicago

Dennis G. Ruppel
Partner, Johnson, Pope, Bokor, Ruppel & Burns LLP

Susan Conley Salice

Luis E. San Miguel
President and CEO, Fresh Dining Concepts LLC

Thomas Scirghi, S.J.
Associate Professor of Theology and Rector of the Jesuit Community, Fordham University

Eileen FitzGerald Sudler
General Counsel, Sudler Management Corp.

Mary Anne Sullivan
Partner, Hogan Lovells

William J. Toppeta
Senior Advisor, Promontory Financial Group

John M. Zizzo
Retired Partner, Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP

Trustees Emeriti

Stephen E. Bepler

Robert E. Campbell
Vice Chairman, Retired, Johnson & Johnson

John J. Cook Jr.
Managing Director, Seaward Management Corporation

John R. Costantino
Managing General Partner, NGN Capital LLC

Maurice J. Cunniffe
Chairman and CEO, Vista Capital

William P. Frank
Senior Partner, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom

Herbert A. Granath
Chairman Emeritus, ESPN, Inc.

Paul B. Guenther
Retired President, PaineWebber

Joseph A. O'Hare, S.J.
President Emeritus, Fordham University

John N. Tognino
Chairman and CEO, Pepper Financial Group

in Memoriam

Trustee Fellows

Maureen Scannell Bateman
Managing Director, Rose Hill Consultants LLC

Kim Bepler

Rosemary T. Berkery
Chair, UBS Financial Services

James E. Buckman
Retired Vice Chairman, York Capital Management

Richard J. Buoncore
Managing Partner, MAI Wealth Advisors LLC

Elizabeth Burns
Retired Senior Vice President, Capital Guardian

Charles C. Carella
Senior Managing Partner, Carella, Byrne, Bain, Gilfillan, Cecchi, Stewart & Olstein

Winston J. Churchill
Managing Partner, SCP Partners

Edwin A. Cohen
Summit Biosciences Inc.

Christine F. Driessen
EVP and CFO, ESPN, Inc.

William J. Flynn
Chairman Emeritus, Mutual of America Insurance Co.

Thomas J. Harrington
President and CEO, Spectrum Capital, Ltd.

Peter W. Howe
Retired Partner, Ernst & Young LLP

John M. Keane
Chairman, Institute for the Study of War

John J. Kirby
Retired Partner, Latham & Watkins

Gerold F. L. Klauer
Green Eagle Capital

V. John Kriss
Retired Senior Vice President, American Funds Distributors, A Capital Group Company

Robert F. Long
CEO, Daily Underwriters of America

William Loschert
Retired Chairman, ACE Global Markets

Raymond V. O'Brien

Charles Osgood
CBS Inc.

Joel I. Picket
Chairman and CEO, Gotham Organization, Inc.

Regina Pitaro
Managing Director, GAMCO Investors, Inc.

Loretta A. Preska
Chief Judge, United States Court for the Southern District of New York

Eugene C. Rainis
Limited Partner, Brown Brothers Harriman & Co.

Nicholas A. Romano

Peter John Sacripanti
Chairman, McDermott, Will & Emery

Thomas P. Salice
Managing Member, SFW Capital Partners, LLC

Paul C. Saunders
Of Counsel, Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP

Robert Shapiro
President and Chair, Oestreicher Realty Company

Margaret M. Smyth
US Chief Financial Officer, National Grid plc

Paul A. Soden
Partner, Thompson Hine, LLP

John E. Toffolon Jr.

Mark H. Tuohey III
Director, Mayor's Office of Legal Counsel, Washington, D.C.

Paul A. Veteri

Vincent Viola
Chairman & CEO, Virtu Financial

John S. Wilcha

Paul G. Williamson
President, P.G. Williamson Group, Inc.