Skip to main content

Mathematics Faculty

Faculty and Contacts

Mathematics Department at Rose Hill
407 John Mulcahy Hall, 441 E. Fordham Road, Bronx, NY 10458-5165
Phone: 718-817-3220 | Fax: 718-817-3236

Mathematics Department at Lincoln Center
113 West 60th Street, Room 813, NY, NY 10023
Phone: 212-636-6310 | Fax: 212-636-7217

Department Chair
Dr. Janusz Golec | JMH 408 | 718-817-3220 | golec@fordham.edu

Assistant to the Chair for Undergraduate Studies
Dr. Melkana Brakalova-Trevithick | JMH 417 | 718-817-3221 | brakalova@fordham.edu

Lincoln Center Associate Chair
Dr. Melkana Brakalova-Trevithick | LL 813B | 212-636-6333 | brakalova@fordham.edu

Executive Secretary at Rose Hill
Antonella DiSilvio | JMH 407 | 718-817-3220 | adisilvio@fordham.edu

Executive Secretary at Lincoln Center
Eliane Victoria | LL 813 | 212-636-6310 | evictoria@fordham.edu

Mathematics Department Faculty

Vincent Alberge, Peter M. Curran Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Université de Strasbourg (France)
Geometry and Topology of low dimensions
Office: JMH 420 | Phone: 718-817-3298 | valberge@fordham.edu

Melkana Brakalova-Trevithick, Associate Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Sofia University (Bulgaria); Ed M Harvard University
Complex Analysis, Mathematics Education
Office: JMH 417 | Phone: 718-817-3221 | brakalova@fordham.edu

Christine Breiner, Associate Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Johns Hopkins University
Geometric Analysis
Office: LL 808G | cbreiner@fordham.edu

Armand Brumer, Professor Emeritus (2006)
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Princeton University
Number Theory, Algebraic Curves (Retired, 2006)
Office: JMH 420 | Phone: 718-817-3229 | brumer@fordham.edu

Erin Carmody, Lecturer
Ph.D. in Mathematics, The Graduate Center, City University of New York
Set theory, forcing, large cardinals, independence, infinity
Office: JMH 418 | Phone: 718-817-0427 | ecarmody2@fordham.edu

Theodore Faticoni, Professor, retired 2018
Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of Connecticut
Abelian Groups
faticoni@fordham.edu

Szu-Pei P. Fu, Peter M. Curran Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Applied Mathematics, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Stochastic Differential Equations, Molecular Dynamic Simulations
Office: JMH 419 | | sfu17@fordham.edu

Janusz Golec, Associate Professor, Chair
Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of Texas
Stochastic Analysis, Numerical Methods
Office: JMH 407 | Phone: 718-817-3220 | golec@fordham.edu

Jasun Gong, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of Michigan
Real Analysis, Nonsmooth Geometry, Calculus of Variations
Office: JMH 415 | Phone: 718-817-5843 | jgong7@fordham.edu

Shu Gu, Peter M. Curran Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of Kentucky
Partial Differential Equations and Harmonic Analysis
Office: JMH 419 | Phone: 718-817-2470 | sgu31@fordham.edu

William Hastings, Professor Emeritus (2019)
Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of Michigan; MS in Computer Science, New York University
Analysis, Probability and Statistics
Office: JMH 412 | Phone: 718-817-5843 | hastings@fordham.edu

Maryam S. Hastings, Visiting Professor, retired 2019
Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of Toledo; MS in Computer Science, Fairleigh Dickinson University
Point set topology
Office: JMH 413 | Phone: 718-817-3228 | mhastings@fordham.edu

Hans-Joachim Hein, Associate Professor and Kim B. and Stephen E. Bepler Chair
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Princeton University
Differential Geometry
Office: JMH 411 | Phone: 718-817-3227 | hhein@fordham.edu

Xumin Jiang, Peter M. Curran Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of Notre Dame
Differential geometry, Analysis of Partial Differential Equations
Office: LL 815-F | Phone: 212-636-6331 | xjiang77@fordham.edu

Sixian Jin, Peter M. Curran Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Claremont Graduate University
Stochastic Analysis, Inferential Statistics, Math Finance
Office: LL 817F | Phone: 212-636-6329 | sjin27@fordham.edu

Kei Kobayashi, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Tufts University
Probability, Stochastic Processes
Office: LL 815F | Phone: 212-636-6331 | kkobayashi5@fordham.edu

Robert H. Lewis, Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Cornell University; MS in Computer Science, University of North Carolina
Computer Algebra, Algebraic Topology
Office: JMH 409 | Phone: 718-817-3226 | rlewis@fordham.edu

Heather Macbeth, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Princeton University
Differential geometry
Office: LL 819C | hmacbeth1@fordham.edu

Frederick Marotto, Associate Professor, retired 2018
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Boston University
Dynamical Systems, Chaos, and Fractals
marotto@fordham.edu

Patrick McFaddin, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of Georgia
Algebra and Algebraic Geometry
Office: LL 808F | Phone: 212-636-6363 | pmcfaddin@fordham.edu

Han-Bom Moon, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Seoul National University, South Korea
Algebraic Geometry
Office: LL 817B | Phone: 212-636-6322 | hmoon8@fordham.edu

Ian Morrison, Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Harvard University
Algebraic Geometry
Office: JMH 421 | Phone: 718-817-3222 | morrison@fordham.edu

Julia Mueller, Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Columbia University
Number Theory, Diophantine Equations
Office: JMH 419 | Phone: 718-817-3225 | jmueller@fordham.edu

Leonard Nissim, Assistant Professor, retired 2016
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Combinatorics, Combinatorial Group Theory
nissim@fordham.edu

Cris Poor, Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Princeton University
Complex Analysis
Office: JMH 416 | Phone: 718-817-3230 | poor@fordham.edu

Manami Roy, Peter M. Curran Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of Oklahoma
Number Theory, Arithmetic Geometry, Langlands Program
Office: JMH 414 | Phone: 718-817-0980 | mroy17@fordham.edu

Rolf J. Ryham, Associate Professor
Ph.D. in Mathematics, The Pennsylvania State University
Partial Differential Equations and Scientific Computing
Office: JMH 401 | Phone: 718-817-0980 | rryham@fordham.edu

William Singer, Professor Emeritus (2015)
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Princeton University
Algebraic Topology, Homological Algebra, Homotopy Theory
Office: JMH 411 | Phone: 718-817-3227 | singer@fordham.edu

Jhevon Smith, Lecturer
M.S. in Mathematics, The City College of New York, CUNY
Office: JMH 423 | Phone: 718-817-3224 | jsmith306@fordham.edu

David Swinarski, Associate Professor, Associate Dean of Faculty
Ph.D. in Mathematics, Columbia University
Algebraic Geometry
dswinarski@fordham.edu

Evan Wood, Lecturer
M.S. in Statistics, University of North Florida
Office : JMH 422B | Phone : 718-817-3230 | ewood5@fordham.edu

Xiaojin Ye, Lecturer
M.A. in Mathematics, The Graduate Center, CUNY
M.S. in Mathematics, Kansas State University
Office: JMH 418 | Phone: 718-817-2476 | xye21@fordham.edu

Emilio Zappa, Lecturer
Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of York (UK)
Office: JMH 421 | Phone: 718-817-2479 | ezappa@fordham.edu

View faculty photo gallery.