Skip to main content

Members of the University community should respond to the daily VitalCheck prompt at least 30 minutes prior to entering campus.

Faculty

Department Administration

Chair
O. Hugo Benavides
Anthropology
Areas of Interest: Social theory, historical production, sexuality and identity, Latino politics, Latin America
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 402E
Email: benavides@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3869; Fax: 718-817-3846

Associate Chair, Rose Hill
Emily V. Rosenbaum
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Urban demography, inequality, immigration, housing policy, family/household demography
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 402C
Email: rosenbaum@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3858; Fax: 718-817-3846

Associate Chair, Lincoln Center
Christine Fountain
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Health and illness, economic sociology, and social network analysis
Lincoln Center, Lowenstein 917B
Email: cfountain1@fordham.edu
Phone: 646-293-3959; Fax: 212-636-7153

Full-Time Faculty A-M

Orit Avishai
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Religion, gender, secularism, qualitative methods, family, the body
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 407
Email: avishai@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3850; Fax: 718-817-3846

O. Hugo Benavides
Anthropology
Areas of Interest: Social theory, historical production, sexuality and identity, Latino politics, Latin America
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 402E
Email: benavides@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3869; ;Fax: 718-817-3846

Evelyn Bush
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Religion, secularization, social movements/political sociology, culture and institutions
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 402D
Email: ebush@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3873; Fax: 718-817-3846

Daisy F. Deomampo
Anthropology
Areas of Interest: Medical anthropology, South Asia, kinship, reproduction, gender and health, global health, globalization, Asian American studies
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 407
Email: ddeomampo@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3850; Fax: 718-817-3846

Ayala Fader
Anthropology
Areas of Interest: Jewish ethnography, religion, language and culture, gender, childhood, urban anthropology
Lincoln Center, Lowenstein 403F
Email: fader@fordham.edu
Phone: 212-636-6513; Fax: 212-636-7153

Jeanne Marie Flavin
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Feminist criminology, reproductive justice, race, gender, and the criminal justice system
Lincoln Center, Lowenstein 925A
Email: jflavin@fordham.edu
Phone: 212-636-6349; Fax: 212-636-7153

Christine M. Fountain
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Health and illness, economic sociology, and social network analysis
Lincoln Center, Lowenstein 916B
Email: cfountain1@fordham.edu
Phone: 646-293-3959; Fax: 212-636-7153

Heather D. Gautney
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Globalization, social movements, political sociology
Lincoln Center, Lowenstein 923B
Email: gautney@fordham.edu
Phone: 212-636-7294; Fax: 212-636-7153

Allan S. Gilbert
Anthropology
Areas of Interest: Archaeology, zooarchaeology, geoarchaeology, Near East, historic northeastern U.S.
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 401B
Email: gilbert@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3854; Fax: 718-817-3846

Greta A. Gilbertson
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Immigration, citizenship, gender
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 406B
Email: gilbertson@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3856; Fax: 718-817-3846

Julie Kleinman
Anthropology
Areas of Interest: Migration, borders, urban studies, labor, race, infrastructure, social movements
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 408C
Phone: 718-817-2936; Fax: 718-817-3846

Vivian Lu
Anthropology
Areas of Interest: Anthropology of capitalism, diaspora, migration, nationalism and secession, race, ethnicity, kinship and gender, Nigeria, Africa-China Studies, south-south globalization 
Lincoln Center,  Lowenstein Hall 923A
Email: vlu2@fordham.edu
 

E. Doyle McCarthy
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Sociology of knowledge and culture, social psychology, emotion studies
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 405A
Email: mccarthy@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3855; Fax: 718-817-3846

Micki McGee
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Sociological theory; sociology of art, culture, consumption, media, and mental health
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 405D
Email: mmcgee@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3860; Fax: 718-817-3846

E. Natalia Mendoza-Rockwell
Anthropology
Areas of Interest: Illegal economies, ethnography of smuggling, Mexico-USA borderlands; linguistic anthropology, philosophies of language, semiotics, publics; political theory, ethnography of politics, democratic institutions; African, Caribbean, and Latin American intellectual history and anti-colonialism
Lincoln Center, Martino Hall 420
Email: emendozarockwell@fordham.edu
Phone: 646-868-4048; Fax: 212-636-7153

Full-Time Faculty N-Z

Johanna S. Quinn
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Sociology of education, race & ethnicity, intersectionality, organizations & workplaces, youth, mixed-methods
Rose Hill, Dealy 408A 
Email: jquinn54@fordham.edu
 

Chris Rhomberg
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Urban sociology, political sociology, race and ethnicity, labor relations
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 402A
Email: rhomberg@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3850; Fax: 718-817-3846

Clara E. Rodriguez
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Race/ethnicity, media, Latinos/as sociology
Lincoln Center, Lowenstein 916B
Email: crodriguez@fordham.edu
Phone: 212-636-6335; Fax: 212-636-7153

Orlando Rodriguez
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Mental health of minority and migrant populations; program evaluation, criminal justice processes
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 408A
Email: orrodriguez@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3867; Fax: 718-817-3846

Emily V. Rosenbaum
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Urban demography, inequality, immigration, housing policy, family/household demography
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 402C
Email: rosenbaum@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-3858; Fax: 718-817-3846

Aseel Sawalha
Anthropology
Areas of Interest: Urban anthropology, arts, gender, critical social theory, war and violence, globalization
Lincoln Center, Lowenstein 917B
Email: asawalha@fordham.edu
Phone: 212-636-6513; Fax: 212-636-7153

Matthew N. Weinshenker
Sociology
Areas of Interest: Fatherhood, family, work-family issues, gender, masculinity, life course, children and youth, quantitative methodology
Rose Hill, Dealy Hall 402B
Email: weinshenker@fordham.edu
Phone: 718-817-0724; Fax: 718-817-3846