Notable Theology Alumni

Notable Alumni/ae

Fordham's Theology Department is honored by the accomplishments of our alumni/ae.  Among those who have received the PhD in Theology from Fordham, we especially honor the following extraordinary graduates:

Rev. Regis Armstrong, PhD 1978, Professor of Theology, Catholic University of America

Anthony Stevens-Arroyo, PhD 1980, Professor Emertius of Theology, Brooklyn College

Rabbi Alan Brill, PhD 1993, Cooperman/Ross Endowed Chair for Jewish-Christian Studies, Seton Hall University

Sr. Sara Butler, PhD 1971, Consultant to United States Bishops' Committee on Doctrine

Patrick Carey, PhD 1973, Professor Emeritus, William J. Kelly, S.J., Chair in Catholic Theology, Marquette University

Anthony Cernera, PhD 1987, President of the Center for Interreligious Understanding

Sr. Kathleen Deignan, PhD 1986, Professor of Religious Studies at Iona College, Composer-In-Residence of Schola Ministry

Sr. Ilia Delio, PhD 1995, Joseph C. Connelly Endowed Chair in Theology, Villanova University

Sr. Dorris Gottemueller, PhD 1974, Vice Chair, Partners in Catholic Health Ministries

John Grim, PhD 1979, Senior Lecturer and Senior Research Scholar at Yale University

Sr. Antionette Gutzler, PhD 2001, President, Maryknoll Sisters

Vahan Hovhanessian, PhD 1998, Primate, Armenian Church in Britain and Ireland

Robert Imperato, PhD 1984, Professor of Theology, Saint Leo University

His Holiness Aram Concilliar Keshishian Catholicos, PhD 1989, President of the Middle Eastern Council of Churches

George Kilcourse, PhD 1973, Founder of American Association for Interchurch Families

Antonios Kireopoulos, PhD 2003, Associate General Secretary for Faith & Order and Interfaith Relations, National Council of Churches

Catherine LaCugna, PhD 1979, Feminist Theologian

Felix Machado, PhD 1984, Bishop of Vasai, India

Rev. Dr. Loida Martell-Otero, 2004, Vice President of Academic Affairs/ Dean, Lexington Theological Seminary

Fr. James Massa, PhD 1996, Auxiliary Bishop, Roman Catholic Church - Diocese of Brooklyn

Robert L. Masson, Professor of Theology, Marquette University PhD 1977

Marie Mayeski, PhD 1973, Professor Emerita of Theology , Loyola Marymount University

Paul D. Molnar, PhD 1980, Professor of Theology, Saint John's University

Timothy O'Connell, PhD 1973, Professor of Theology, Loyola University of Maryland

Teresa Okure, S.H.C.J., PhD 1984, Professor of New Testament and Gender Hermeneutics at the Catholic Institute of West Africa in Port Harcourt, Nigeria

John E. Sexton, PhD 1978, Former President of New York University 

Thomas Sheehan, PhD 1970, Professor of Religious Studies, Stanford University

Donald Spoto, PhD 1970, American Biographer and Theologian

Julia A. Upton, PhD 1980, Provost Emerita and Distinguished Professor of Theology, St. John’s University

William Vendley, PhD 1983, Secretary General of the World Conference of Religions for Peace

Rev. Rebecca Young, PhD 2003, Professor of Theology at the Jakarta Theological Seminary, Consultant for Presbyterian Disaster Assistance, Ordained Presbyterian Minister