Skip to main content

Fordham-Stein Prize

Stein Prize Underwood

Barbara Underwood, Solicitor General of New York State, accepts 2019 Stein Prize from Dean Matthew Diller

Fordham-Stein Prize

First awarded in 1976, the Fordham-Stein Prize is presented annually to a member of the legal profession whose work embodies the highest standards of the legal profession.  Prize recipients exemplify outstanding professional conduct; promote the advancement of justice; and bring credit to the profession by emphasizing in the public mind the contributions of lawyers to our society and to our democratic system of government.

From its inception, the winners of the Prize have been men and women with distinguished careers who reflect a profound commitment to the public good. Past winners include nine Supreme Court Justices; four former United States Attorneys General; three former Secretaries of State; and leaders of the bench and bar. 


Submit a Nomination


  1976  Henry J. Friendly
  1977  Edward H. Levi
  1978  Warren E. Burger
  1979  Wade H. McCree, Jr.
  1980  Archibald Cox
  1981  Warren M. Christopher
  1982  William H. Webster
  1983  Potter Stewart
  1984  Edward Weinfeld
  1985  Edward Bennett Williams
  1986  Shirley M. Hufstedler
  1987  Lewis F. Powell, Jr.
  1988  Robert M. Morgenthau
  1989  Marian Wright Edelman
  1990  William Hughes Mulligan
  1991  William P. Rogers
  1992  Sandra Day O'Connor
  1993  Cyrus Vance
  1994  Milton Pollack
  1995  Lloyd N. Cutler
  1996  Gerald Bard Tjoflat
  1997  Charles Alan Wright
  1998  George J. Mitchell
  1999  William H. Rehnquist
  2000  William T. Coleman, Jr.
  2001  Ruth Bader Ginsburg
  2002  Judith S. Kaye
  2003  John D. Feerick
  2004  Patricia M. Wald
  2005  Griffin B. Bell
  2006  Joseph M. McLaughlin
  2007  Robert B. Fiske, Jr.
  2008  Stephen G. Breyer
  2009  John F. Keenan
  2010  Theodore B. Olson
  2011  Kenneth Feinberg
  2013  Jack B. Weinstein
  2014  Mary Jo White
  2015  Eric H. Holder, Jr.
  2016  Guido Calabresi
  2017  Anthony Kennedy
  2018  Elena Kagan
  2019  Barbara D. Underwood
  2021  Robert A. Katzmann

  The Fordham-Stein Prize was not awarded in 2012 due to Hurricane Sandy.
  The Fordham-Stein prize was not awarded in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.