Skip to main content

Current Graduate Students

Congratulations to our graduate students who won awards this year!


Marco Damiano in armor

Marco Damiano

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BLA St. John's College

mdamiano@fordham.edu

Research interests: Medieval romance, specifically with regard to language usage, social status and the relationship between a knight and his lady


Liz Duchovni

Elizabeth Duchovni

MA Program, Medieval Studies

elizabeth@duchovni.org

Research interests: Medieval English navigation, Literature and Culture of Medieval Iceland


John C. Evans

John C. Evans

MA Program, Medieval Studies
johnevans@optonline.net

Research Interests: Arthurian Literature, medieval theology and devotion


Hannah Graham

Hannah Graham

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA History and History of Art, University of Michigan
hgraham7@fordham.edu

Research interests: Christianity in the Latin East, Frankish Greece, interfaith relations, art and architecture, and the material culture of the crusades


David Howes

David Howes

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA California State University, San Marcos
dhowes1@fordham.edu

Research interests: Medieval English mayors, burough history

Meghan Kase

Meghan Kase

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA Classics, Temple University

Research interests: Early Middle Ages, East-West relations, transmission of Greek texts in the West, formation of the "Other" in the Western Religious Imaginary, the Genealogy of Religious Violence, Critical Theory
Awards: received a 2016 Reginald Foster Scholarship from the Paideia Institute and a 2016 GSA Professional Development Grant to attend Paideia's Living Latin in Paris Program.
mkase@fordham.edu


Christoff Keim 

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA, Louisiana State University
ckeim@fordham.edu

Research interests: Late medieval heresies, religious thought


Linea Kemsley

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA Brigham Young University 
lineakemsley@gmail.com

Research interests: Manuscript studies, late medieval England


Galina Krasscova

Galina Krasskova

MA Program, Medieval Studies
MA Religious Studies, New York University
BA Cultural Studies with a concentration in Religious Studies, Empire State College
Research interests: Latin language, affective piety and female mysticism, saint cults, relics, ossuaries, bone chapels, Mechthild of Magdeburg.
Awards: Received Senior Teaching Fellowship 2015-2016, Jesuit Pedagogy Seminar 2016, Presidential Scholarship 2012-2014
krasskova@gmail.com
Website


Thomas Lobitz 

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA Clemson
Research interests: Anglo-Saxon England, pre-conversion Scandinavia, paganism, witchcraft

Katy McCombs

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA College of Wooster
kemccombs@gmail.com

Research interests: Russian Orthodox iconography and the iconostasis, ascetic theology, hesychasm


Ashley N. Newby

Ashley N. Newby

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA Seattle Pacific University 
anewby@fordham.edu

Research interests: women's work in medieval hospitals, medieval medical practice, environmental studies, material culture


Christie Olek

Christie Olek

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA History, Saint Francis University (PA)
colek@fordham.edu


Research interests: Social history of medicine, the healer-patient relationship, medieval hospitals, religious pluralism, women and gender


Andrew O'Sullivan

Andrew O'Sullivan

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA German Language and Literature, Fordham University
Research interests: History of the English language, Anglo-Saxon literature, literacy and reading practices, Renaissance antiquarianism.

aosullivan@fordham.edu


Alex Pisano 

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA Fordham University 
apisano2@fordham.edu

Research interests: Medieval theology, western history of ideas, medieval literature


Photo of Alex ponti

Alexandra Ponti 

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA Millersville University
aponti@fordham.edu

Research interests: Cultural and urban history of late medieval England, London cooks from the thirteenth through the sixteenth centuries


Andrew Thornbrooke

Andrew Thornebrooke

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA History, Portland State University Urban Honors College
andrew.thornebrooke@gmail.com


Research interests: Occitania, political culture, semiotics, the social circle of Peter the Chanter, transdisciplinarity.

Awards: Received a Bennett Assistantship and Centennial Scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year
 


Kevin VogelaarKevin Vogelaar

MA Program, Medieval Studies
AA SUNY Ulster
BA New Paltz
vogelaar@fordham.edu

Research interests: Early interaction between Christianity and Islam, interfaith relations, pilgrimage studies, Caliphate dynastic histories 


Rebecca Weiss-Horowitz

MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA English and Creative Writing, Brandeis University
rweisshorowitz@fordham.edu


Research interests: Arthurian literature and legend, history of the English language, scribal activity, history of Romance, Latin language and literature.

Former Visiting Students

Katrine Funding Højgaard
MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA History, Aalborg University (Denmark)
Research Interests: High Middle Ages, Central Europe and British Isles, History of Mentalities, Cultural History, Manuscripts, Literature.

Read about Katrine's experience at the Center for Medieval Studies.

Affiliated Fordham Students

Kathryn Bresee
PhD Program, Philosophy
BA Eastern University
Research Interests: Natural law, contemporary Thomism
kbresee@fordham.edu

M. Christina Bruno
MA History, Fordham University
BA History, Skidmore College
Dissertation Title: Church Law and Society in Late Medieval Bologna: a Franciscan vademecum in Context
Mentor: Wolfgang Mueller
mbruno@fordham.edu

Robert Byers
PhD Program, English
MA English, University of Alaska, Fairbanks
BA English, University of Alaska, Fairbanks
Research Interests: Old English Literature, Middle English literature, Icelandic sagas, animal studies, posthumanism.

rbyers@fordham.edu

Jeff Doolittle
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval British Studies, Cardiff University
BA History and Political Science, Ramapo College of New Jersey
Research Interests: Early medieval medical texts, monasticism in southern Italy, Beneventan script
Dissertation Mentor: Richard Gyug
jdoolittle1@fordham.edu

Louisa Foroughi
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
Research Interests: Social and cultural history of late medieval England, reading practices and literacy, vernacular religion, yeomen
lforoughi@fordham.edu

Tobias Hrynick
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
BA History, University of Maine
Research Interests: Medieval environmental history, particularly wetland management.
thrynick@fordham.edu

Brock Mason
PhD Program, Philosophy
BA Brigham Young University
Research Interests: Philosophy of religion, metaphysics, theology, philosophy of law
bmason9@fordham.edu

Nathan Melson
PhD Program, History
MA History, Fordham University
BA Harding University
Dissertation Title: Franciscan Identity and Saintly Economy in Late Medieval Marseille, 1248-1483
Mentor: Richard Gyug
melson@fordham.edu

Lindsey Mercer
PhD Program, Theology
MTS Harvard Divinity School
BA University of Georgia
Dissertation Title: Of Monks and Monsters: 'Voluntary Eunichs' and the Project of Male Celibacy in the Fifth Century
Mentor: Benjamin Dunning

lmercer2@fordham.edu

Alex Miller
PhD Program, Theology
MA Catholic University of America
MA University of Notre Dame
AB Georgetown
Research Interests: Theological anthropology, theological epistemology, doctrinal disputes and councils
amiller60@fordham.edu

Anna Moscatiello
PhD Program, History
MA Fordham University
BA Fordham University
Research Interests: Late medieval England, social and economic history, London

cappocia@fordham.edu

Sarah O'Brien
PhD Program, English
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
BA Catholic University of America
French of England
saobrien@fordham.edu

Rachel Podd
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval History, University of York
BA History, Trinity University
Research Interests: Medieval England, the Iberian Peninsula, gender, health and disease, social history.
rpodd@fordham.edu

Natalie Reynoso    
Theology Program
nreynoso1@fordham.edu
 

Christopher Rose
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
BA University of Albany
Research Interests: Nobility, historiography, the Latin East
crose2@fordham.edu

Joseph Rudolph
PhD Program, English
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
BA Literature, Thomas More College
Research Interests: Medieval Latin, reception of classical texts, twelfth-century literary culture, medievalism, English poetry.
jrudolph@fordham.edu

Samantha Sagui
PhD Program, History
MA History, Fordham University
BA History, Brandeis University
Research Interests: 14th century England, urban history, crime and policing.
Dissertation Title: Law, Order, and the Development of Urban Policing Functions in Later Medieval England
Mentor: Maryanne Kowaleski

sagui@fordham.edu

Machessa Samz
PhD Program, Philosophy
MA Philosophy, Fordham University
BA Philosophy, Marquette University
Research Interests: medieval philosophy, metaphysics, philosophy of language
msamz@fordham.edu

Doug Shephardson
PhD Program, Philosophy
Research Interests: Ancient and medieval philosophy, patristics, late antiquity, and the philosophy of religion
dshephardson@fordham.edu

Danielle Sottosanti
PhD Program, English
MA University of Edinburgh
BA University of Arizona
Research Interests: Middle English Saint's lives, medieval breviaries, Latin translation, women and religion
dsottosanti@fordham.edu

Sean Patrick Spillane
English Program
sspillane2@fordham.edu

Margaret Summerfield
MA Program, English
BA Bryn Mawr College
Research Interests: Early modern literature and society, female prophets, religious dissenters
msummerfield@fordham.edu

Christopher Sweeney
PhD Program, Theology
MFA Brown University
BA San Francisco State University
Research Interests: Late antique Syria, asceticism, medicine and magic, epigraphy

csweeney13@fordham.edu

Caroline Timmings 
MA Program, Philosophy
ctimmings@fordham.edu
 

Gregory Tucker
PhD Program, Theology
MA Theology, St Vladimir's Orthodox Theological Seminary, New York
MSt Theology, Oxford
BA Theology, Oxford
Research Interests: Patristic and Medieval Theology, Biblical exegesis, Liturgy.
gtucker2@fordham.edu

Christopher Upham
PhD Program, Philosophy
MA Fordham
MA Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
BA Wheaton College
Research Interests: metaethics, theories of moral responsibility, philosophy of mind, medieval semantics and logic
cupham@fordham.edu