Skip to main content

Current Graduate Students

Congratulations to our graduate students who won awards this year!


Grace Campagna

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
B.A. Fordham University
gcampagna1@fordham.edu 

Research interests: History of Medieval England, women and gender


Liz Duchovni

Elizabeth Duchovni

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
elizabeth@duchovni.org

Research interests: Medieval English navigation, Literature and Culture of Medieval Iceland


Frances Eshleman

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
B.A. Wheaton College
feshleman@fordham.edu

Research interests: Canon Law, Inquisition, women and gender


Mikayla Fenley

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
B.A. Colorado Christian University
A.A. Front Range Community College
mfenley@fordham.edu

Research interests: Medieval Theology, Mysticism


Pete Hauser

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
J.D. Fordham University School of Law
M.B.A. Stern School of Business, NYU
B.A. Brown University
phauser@fordham.edu

Research interests: The British Isles from the Neolithic to 1066 with an emphasis on Celtic Studies; History; Law; Economics; Literature; Mythology; Early Christianity


Mark Host

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
M.A. Cleveland State University
B.A. Cleveland State University 
mhost1@fordham.edu

Research interests: Literature (Old English, Middle English, Arthurian), relic cults, Byzantine east, military religious orders


 

Michael Innocenti

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
B.A., Fordham University
minnocenti@fordham.edu

Research interests: Medieval theology, Medieval philosophy, Monastic theology, Thomas Aquinas


Camila Marcone

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
M.A. University of Salamanca
B.A. Columbia University
cmarcone@fordham.edu

Research interests: Environmental History, Medieval Iberia, effects of Christianity on consumption and local biodiversity


Matthew Maresca

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
B.A. George Washington University
mmaresca1@fordham.edu

Research interests: Social history in Late Antiquity and the Early Middle Ages, early Christianity


Katy McCombs

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
B.A. College of Wooster
kemccombs@gmail.com

Research interests: Russian Orthodox iconography and the iconostasis, ascetic theology, hesychasm


Trevor Nau

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
B.A. University of Oregon tnau@fordham.edu

Research interests: Medieval feud culture, Old English literature


Alex Pisano

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
B.A. College of the Holy Cross
apisano2@fordham.edu

Research interests: medieval theology, medieval philosophy, medieval literature


Alexandra Ponti

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
B.A. Millersville University
aponti@fordham.edu

Research interests: Cultural and urban history of late medieval England, London cooks from the thirteenth through the sixteenth centuries


Brittany Smyth

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
B.A. Fordham University
bsmyth4@fordham.edu

Research interests: Western European history and religion in England, France, and Germany


Christian Stempert

M.A. Program, Medieval Studies
M.L.I.S. Indiana University
B.A. Rutgers University
B.A. The King's College
cstempert@fordham.edu

Research interests: Religious and lay asceticism, history and theology of sexuality and gender in the Middle Ages, medieval schools, universities, and libraries

Former Visiting Students

Katrine Funding Højgaard
MA Program, Medieval Studies
BA History, Aalborg University (Denmark)
Research Interests: High Middle Ages, Central Europe, and British Isles, History of Mentalities, Cultural History, Manuscripts, Literature.

Affiliated Fordham Students

Alisa Beer
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
MLS, Rare Books and Manuscripts Specialization, Indiana
BA History, Yale University
Dissertation Title: "Managing Monastic Libraries in Medieval England" 
Mentor: Dr. Maryanne Kowaleski
abeer@fordham.edu

Benjamin Bertrand
PhD Program, History
MA History, Boston College
BA History, University of New Hampshire, Durham
Research Interests: intersections of violence and society in Medieval Europe, with a special emphasis upon the ways that violence served to construct identity in different communities.
bbertrand3@fordham.edu

Ronald Braasch
PhD Program, History
MA Military History, Norwich University, VT
BS Military History, United States Military Academy
Research Interests: Medieval History, Military History, The Hundred Years’ War, The Crusades.
rbraasch@fordham.edu

Kathryn Bresee
PhD Program, Philosophy
BA Eastern University
Research Interests: Natural law, contemporary Thomism
kbresee@fordham.edu

Robert Byers
PhD Program, English
MA English, University of Alaska, Fairbanks
BA English, University of Alaska, Fairbanks
Research Interests: Old English Literature, Middle English literature, Icelandic sagas, animal studies, posthumanism.
rbyers@fordham.edu

Carolyn Cargile
PhD Program, English
MA, The University of York
BA, Wake Forest University
Research Interests: Twelfth-century English and Norman historiography.
ecargile@fordham.edu

Patrick DeBrosse
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval History, University of East Anglia
BA History, Temple University
Research Interests: High Medieval Europe, especially its noble culture, the crusading movement (the Third Crusade, in particular), the construction of narrative history, and the Angevins domains. 
pdebrosse@fordham.edu

Jeff Doolittle
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval British Studies, Cardiff University
BA History and Political Science, Ramapo College of New Jersey
Dissertation: “Early Medieval Medical Culture at Montecassino”
Dissertation Mentor: Richard Gyug
jdoolittle1@fordham.edu

Kasey Fausak
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
BA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
Research Interests: Early Irish Law
kfausak@fordham.edu

Matthew Glaser
PhD Program, Philosophy
mglaser7@fordham.edu

Sally Gordon
MA Program, History
sgordon44@fordham.edu

Douglass Hamilton
PhD Program, History
MA, University of Toronto
BA, Skidmore College
dhamilton12@fordham.edu

Tobias Hrynick
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
BA History, University of Maine
Research Interests: Medieval environmental history, particularly wetland management.
thrynick@fordham.edu

Galina Krasskova
PhD Program, Theology
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
MA Religious Studies, New York University
Research Interests: Eunuchs, material culture, theological anthropology, suffering and the body, ascetism, Latin
krasskova@fordham.edu

Patrick Landers
PhD Program, Theology
MAR, Yale University
MPPM, Yale University
BA, Williams College
Research Interests: Medieval and Patristic Theology
planders@fordham.edu

Nathan Melson
PhD Program, History
MA History, Fordham University
BA Harding University
Dissertation Title: Franciscan Identity and Saintly Economy in Late Medieval Marseille, 1248-1483
Mentor: Richard Gyug
melson@fordham.edu

Alex Miller
PhD Program, Theology
MA Catholic University of America
MA University of Notre Dame
AB Georgetown
Research Interests: Theological anthropology, theological epistemology, doctrinal disputes and councils
amiller60@fordham.edu

Sarah O'Brien
PhD Program, English
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
BA Catholic University of America
French of England
saobrien@fordham.edu

Christie Olek
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
BA History, Saint Francis University
Research Interests: Social history of medicine, the healer-patient relationship, medieval hospitals, women and gender.
colek@fordham.edu

Rachel Podd
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval History, University of York
BA History, Trinity University
Dissertation: "Health in Late Medieval England: The Impact of Age, Sex, and Income on the Lived Experience”
Mentor: Dr. Maryanne Kowaleski
rpodd@fordham.edu

Amanda Racine
PhD Program, History
MA, University of Colorado-Boulder
BA, University of Idaho
Research Interests: Crusades, the Latin East, the Eastern Mediterranean, Slavery, Service, France
aracine1@fordham.edu

Jason Ray
PhD Program, English
MA, Columbia University 
BA, Yale University
jray12@fordham.edu

Natalie Reynoso    
Theology Program
nreynoso1@fordham.edu

Christopher Rose
PhD Program, History
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
BA University of Albany
Dissertation: "The Nobility of Outremer: Identity and Power among the Ibelins and their Affinity, 1174-1374"
Mentor: Dr Nicholas Paul
crose2@fordham.edu

Joseph Rudolph
PhD Program, English
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
BA Literature, Thomas More College
Research Interests: Medieval Latin, reception of classical texts, twelfth-century literary culture, medievalism, English poetry.
jrudolph@fordham.edu

Samantha Sagui
PhD Program, History
MA History, Fordham University
BA History, Brandeis University
Dissertation Title: Law, Order, and the Development of Urban Policing Functions in Later Medieval England
Mentor: Maryanne Kowaleski 
sagui@fordham.edu

Michael Sanders
PhD Program, History
MA, Western Michigan University
BA, Saint Vincent College
Research Interests: Iberian political culture and crusades, Iter per Hispaniam/Connections between Iberia and the Holy Land
msanders17@fordham.edu

Doug Shephardson
PhD Program, Philosophy
Research Interests: Ancient and medieval philosophy, patristics, late antiquity, and the philosophy of religion
dshephardson@fordham.edu

David Smigen-Rothkopf
PhD Program, English
MA Medieval Studies, Fordham University
Post-Bacc Certificate in Classics, Unversity of Pennsylvania
BA Classics, Boston University
Research Interests: Malory, Genealogy, Medieval Literature.
dsmigenrothkopf@fordham.edu

William Tanner Smoot
PhD Program, History
MA, Marshall University
BBA, Marshall University
Research Interests: Early and High Medieval England, Monasticism, Religious History and Culture, Historical Memory.
wsmoot@fordham.edu

Sean Patrick Spillane
PhD Program, English
sspillane2@fordham.edu

Margaret Summerfield
MA Program, English
BA Bryn Mawr College
Research Interests: Early modern literature and society, female prophets, religious dissenters
msummerfield@fordham.edu

Christopher Sweeney
PhD Program, Theology
MFA Brown University
BA San Francisco State University
Research Interests: Late antique Syria, asceticism, medicine and magic, epigraphy 
csweeney13@fordham.edu

Caroline Timmings 
MA Program, Philosophy
ctimmings@fordham.edu

Gregory Tucker
PhD Program, Theology
MA Theology, St Vladimir's Orthodox Theological Seminary, New York
MSt Theology, Oxford
BA Theology, Oxford
Research Interests: Patristic and Medieval Theology, Biblical exegesis, Liturgy.
gtucker2@fordham.edu

Christopher Upham
PhD Program, Philosophy
MA Fordham
MA Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
BA Wheaton College
Research Interests: metaethics, theories of moral responsibility, philosophy of mind, medieval semantics and logic
cupham@fordham.edu