Zakirul Alam Bhuiyan

Md Zakirul Alam Bhuiyan

Associate Professor

Department of Computer and Information Sciences
Fordham University JMH 334,
E Fordham Road, Bronx, NY 10458 USA
Email: [email protected]
Personal Site

  • Dr. Bhuiyan is currently an Associate Professor in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences at Fordham University, NY City, USA. He is the Director of the Dependable and Secure System Research (DependSys) Lab and is affiliated with Fordham Center for Cybersecurity. His research focuses on cybersecurity, data-driven dependability, Trustworthy AI/ML, and Emerging CPS/IoT applications. Dr. Bhuiyan authored/co-authored over 200 publications, including journal/transaction articles, conference proceedings, 10 book chapters, and 04 books. His publication appeared in many prestigious journals, including IEEE TC, IEEE TPDS, IEEE TII, IEEE TDSC, IEEE TITS, IEEE TSUSC, IEEE TETC, IEEE IoT, ACM CS, ACM TAAS, ACM TOSN, INF, INS, JSA, JNCA, and conferences including IEEE INFOCOM, IEEE SECON, IEEE/IFIP DSN, IEEE SRDS, IEEE TrustCom, DCOSS, IEEE MASS, IEEE DASC, and so on.

    Dr. Bhuiyan has been recognized as one of the -- “Highly Cited Researchers” --One of the world’s most influential researchers (0.1%) across multi-disciplines, including computer science, by Web of Science. 24 of his research papers have become the “ESI Highly Cited Papers,” and 4 of them have become s “Hot Paper” in Computer Science fields. Dr. Bhuiyan was also recognized as the --"World’s Rising Stars of Science"-- in 2022-2023 by He has served as a Lead Guest Editor and Associates Editor for key journals, including IEEE TII, ACM TOMM, ACM CPS, IEEE IoT-J, Information Sciences, FGCS, ACCESS, JPDC, and MTAP. He has also served as the general chair, program chair, workshop chair, publicity chair, TPC member, and reviewer of various international journals/conferences. He is a general chair for IEEE DASC 2020 and a program chair for IEEE TrustCom 2020 and 2022, IEEE CSCloud 2022, and IEEE iSCI 2021. He has received 6 Best Paper Awards and the IEEE TCSC Early Career Researcher (2016-2017), the IEEE Outstanding Leadership Award (2018-2022), and Service Award (2019-2021). He is a senior member of IEEE and a member of ACM.

  • Dependability, Cybersecurity, Data Trustworthiness, Data Quality 

    • IoT/CPS Applications
    • Big Data, Cloud, Networked and Distributed Sensing Systems