Skip to main content

English PhD Students

Jane Anderson

Jane Anderson

B.A., University of Connecticut
M.A., Fordham University

Field of Study: 20th-Century British, Trauma Studies

Contact
janderson23@fordham.edu


Melissa BeanMelissa Bean

B.A., New York University
M.A., New York University

Field of Study: Late 19th Century and Early 20th Century British

Contact
mbean2@fordham.edu


Elizabeth BolgerElizabeth Bolger

B.A., Connecticut College

Field of Study: 18th-Century British Literature

Contact
ebolger2@fordham.edu


Fordham LogoJohn Breedlove

B.A., Gonzaga University
M.A., Villanova University

Field of Study: Early Modern

Contact
jbreedlove@fordham.edu


Writing Center Tutor Bio Pic

Robert Byers

B.A., University of Alaska Fairbanks
M.A., University of Alaska Fairbanks

Field of Study: Medieval

Courses Taught
Composition II

Contact
rbyers@fordham.edu


English graduate profile picture

Kyle Campbell

B.A., Saint Micheal’s College
M.S., University of Edinburgh
M.A., University of Vermont

Field of Study: Early American Literature, Queer Theory, and Queer Comics

Courses Taught
Composition II
Text and Contexts: Science Fiction and Film

Dissertation Title
Queer Natural History

Dissertation Description
“Queer Natural History” examines natural history as one of the origin points for modern thinking about queer and other non-normative identities and ways of being.

Contact
kcampbell27@fordham.edu
Curriculum Vitae


Corinna CapeCorinna Cape

B.A., Bard College
M.S., Pace University 

Field of Study: 20th and 21st Century American

Contact
ccape2@fordham.edu


Carolyn CargileCarolyn Cargile

B.A., Wake Forest University
M.A., The University of York

Field of Study: Medieval

Courses Taught
Composition II
Texts & Contexts: Shapeshifting in Literature

Dissertation Title
The Shape of History: Formal Variety and the Production of the Past in Twelfth-Century History Writing in England and Normandy (ca. 1120-1154)

Dissertation Description
My dissertation examines formal variety -- the appearance of different forms, styles, and registers -- in four twelfth-century chronicles written in England and Normandy. It is a multilingual dissertation; of the chronicles I research, two are Latin, one Old English, and one Old French. In it, I argue that historians in the twelfth century conceptualized history as intergeneric in nature and used diverse literary forms in order to claim truth or authority in different and multiple ways.

Contact
ecargile@fordham.edu


Maya CastellanosMaya Raquel Castellanos

B.A., New York University

Field of Study: 20th and 21st-Century American

Courses Taught
Composition II

Contact
mcastellanos4@fordham.ed

 


Nicholas ClarkNicholas Clark

B.A., High Point University
M.A., Bowling Green State University

Field of Study: 20th and 21st-Century American, Ecocriticism, Speculative Fiction. 

Contact
nclark16@fordham.edu


Jessica D'Onofrio

Jessica D’Onofrio

B.A., St. John's University
M.A., Hunter College, CUNY

Field of Study: 19th-Century American; African American

Courses Taught
Composition I
Composition II
Texts & Contexts: Slave Narratives & Neo-Slave Narratives

Dissertation Title
Fictions of Literacy in Nineteenth-Century American Literature

Contact
jdonofrio8@fordham.edu


english graduate student profile picture

Lennox Debra

B.A., Hobart and William Smith Colleges
M.A., SUNY Stony Brook

Field of Study: Joyce Studies, Lacanian Psychoanalysis, Narrative Studies, Poe Studies, Early 20th Century Print Media

Contact
ldebra@fordham.edu


Alex Finn-AtkinsAlexandra Finn-Atkins

B.A., Providence College
M.A., Clark University

Field of Study: Early Modern

Courses Taught
Composition I
Composition II
Texts and Contexts: Running in Literature

Contact
afinnatkins@fordham.edu


Madison ForbesMadison Forbes

B.A., Bridgewater State University

Field of Study: Early Modern

Contact
mforbes6@fordham.edu


Stephen FraganoStephen Fragano

B.A., Fordham University
M.A., Fordham University

Field of Study: Early American

Contact
sfragano@fordham.edu
Curriculum Vitae


Fordham LogoAngela Furry

B.A., University of Nebraska-Lincoln
M.A., Cornell University

Field of Study: Early Modern

Contact
afurry@fordham.edu


Anwita Gosh

Anwita Ghosh

B.A., University of Calcutta
M.A., Jadavpur University
M.Phil, Jadvpur University

Field of Study: 20th-Century British, Modernism and Psychoanalysis

Contact
aghosh6@fordham.edu
Curriculum Vitae


Daniel HeffernanDaniel Heffernan

B.A., St. John's University
M.A., St. John's University

Field of Study: 20th Century American, Poetry and Poetics

Contact
dheffernan1@fordham.edu


Gaby Hurtarte

Maria Gabriela Hurtarte Leon

B.A., Suny, Purchase College

Field of Study: 20th and 21st Century American; Latinx Studies; Postcolonial Studies

Contact
mhurtarteleon@fordham.edu


English Graduate Student Profile Picture

Lina Jiang

B.A., Fudan University
M.A., New York University

Field of Study: 18th-Century British Literature, British Romanticism, Natural History, the Atlantic World

Courses Taught
Composition II

Contact
ljiang28@fordham.edu


Elissa JohnstonElissa Johnston           

B.A., Wheaton College (IL)

Field of Study: Medieval studies

Contact
ejohnston12@fordham.edu


Peter Krause

Peter Krause

B.A., Goucher College
M.A., New York University

Field of Study: 20th Century American, Contemporary War Literature

Courses Taught
Composition II

Contact
pkrause1@fordham.edu
Curriculum Vitae


Wing Tan LaiWing Tan Lai

B.A., University of Sheffield
M.A., University of Oxford

Field of Study: Medieval Literature

Contact
wlai9@fordham.edu


Ellis LightEllis Light

B.A., The New School (Eugene Lang College)
M.A., Fordham University

Field of Study: Medieval Literature

Courses Taught
Composition I
Composition II
Texts & Contexts: Werewolves in Medieval Literature and Beyond
Texts & Contexts: Villains and Villainy

Dissertation Title
Bodily Fluids and Forms of Community in Late Medieval English Devotion and Literature

Contact
elight1@fordham.edu
https://fordham.academia.edu/EllisLight
http://www.ellislight.com
Curriculum Vitae


English Graduate Profile PictureRhianna Marks-Watton

B.A., Oakland University

Field of Study: Early America

Contact
rmarkswatton@fordham.edu


Writing Center Tutor Bio Pic

John Miele

B.A., University of Rochester
M.A., Fordham University

Field of Study: 19th-Century British Literature

Contact
jmiele6@fordham.edu


Sarah O'Brian

Sarah O’Brien

B.A., The Catholic University of America
M.A., Fordham University

Field of Study: Medieval

Contact
saobrien@fordham.edu


Fordham LogoUttara Rangarajan

B.A., University of Delhi

M.A., University of Edinburgh
MPhil, University of Cambridge

Field of Study: Postcolonial Literature

Contact
urangarajan@fordham.edu


Jason RayJason Ray

B.A., Yale University (Theater Studies)
M.A., Columbia University (Medieval & Renaissance Studies)

Field of Study: Medieval Literature

Contact
jray12@fordham.edu


Cle'mence SfadjClémence Sfadj

B.A., Université Paris-Sorbonne IV
M.A., Université Paris-Sorbonne IV

Field of Study: 19th-Century American, Early 20th-Century American, Comics Studies

Contact
csfadj@fordham.edu


American Studies Program Assistant Patrick Skea

Patrick J. Skea

B.A., New York University
M.A.,, SUNY New Paltz

Field of Study: 20th-Century American; 19th-21st Century Anglophone Combat Literature, Trauma Studies; PTSD Narratives

Courses Taught
Composition II
Texts and Contexts: Violence and War in 19th-21st Century Literature

Dissertation Title
Perpetrator Trauma within 20th-21st Century United States’ Veteran Narratives

Contact
pskea1@fordham.edu
Curriculum Vitae


Francesca Small Francesca Small

B.A., Spelman College

Field of Study: 20-21 Century African American Literature, Black Studies, Gothic studies

Contact
Fsmall@sfordham.edu


English Graduate Profile Picture

David Smigen-Rothkopf

B.A., in Classics and History, Boston University
Post-Bacc Certificate in Classics, University of Pennsylvania
M.A., Fordham University, in Medieval Studies

Field of Study: Medieval

Contact
dsmigenrothkopf@fordham.edu


Coey Lionel SpencerCorey Lionel Spencer

B.A., Lehman College

Field of Study: 20-21 Century African American Literature, Black Studies, Performance Studies

Contact
cspencer14@fordham.edu


Sean Spillane

Sean Spillane

B.A., Bridgewater State University
M.A., University of York

Field of Study: Medieval

Contact
sspillane2@fordham.edu


Ian Sullivan

Ian Sullivan

B.A., West Virginia Wesleyan College
M.A., Towson University

Field of Study: 18th-Century British

Courses Taught
Composition II

Contact
isullivan7@fordham.edu


English Graduate Student Faculty Profile Picture

Annalise Wolf

B.A., Brevard College
M.A., University of Kentucky

Field of Study: Early Modern

Contact
awilliams123@fordham.edu


Amal ZamanAmal Zaman

B.A., Smith College

Field of Study: Modernism

Contact
azaman5@fordham.edu