Mulligan Competition

The William Hughes Mulligan Memorial Moot Court Competition is the first of two annual competitions held to determine which students will compose the Fordham Moot Court Board for the upcoming year. It is held in honor of William Hughes Mulligan, Dean of Fordham University School of Law and distinguished jurist of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit. The competition is judged on the basis of excellence in legal writing and oral advocacy skills.

Congratulations to our 2023-2024 Mulligan participants and finalists!

Everyone did an excellent job, and we saw incredible written and oral advocacy skills. Finals were held on July 12, 2023. Thank you to our alumni judges for their assistance in the quarterfinals; to Professor Capers, Professor Kainen, Professor Shahshahani, and Professor Zucker for their assistance in the semifinals; and to the Honorable Loretta J. Preska (S.D.N.Y.), the Honorable Ann M. Donnelly (E.D.N.Y.), and the Honorable Peggy Kuo (E.D.N.Y.) for their assistance in the finals. We are pleased to announce Anushka Sarkar as the 2023-2024 Best Oral Argument winner and Harper Tang as the 2023-2024 Best Brief winner.

The 2023-2024 competitors argued the following two questions on a fictionalized writ of certiorari before the Supreme Court of the United States:

  1. Whether law enforcement must obtain a search warrant to collect cell-site location information both for a period less than seven days and for the real-time position of an individual's location.
  2. Whether law enforcement must give standardized Miranda warnings in a context-specific manner to individuals in custody, dependent on their background, for such individuals to properly waive their Miranda rights.

Thank you again to everyone for their participation, and we look forward to next year’s competition!


Email Grady Tarplee, 2023-2024 Mulligan Editor.