Skip to main content

Faculty

Fordham’s distinguished faculty leads the field of theology in scholarly research, publishing, teaching, and service. Collectively, the faculty possesses a breadth and diversity of knowledge and expertise that spans countless methods and topics of theological inquiry.

Rufus Burnett
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Duquesne University
Systematic Theology | rburnettjr@fordham.edu

Mary Callaway, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University
Biblical Studies, Old Testament
718-817-3255 | callaway@fordham.edu

Charles C. Camosy, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Christian Ethics
718-817-3207 | camosy@fordham.edu

Robert G. Davis, Associate Professor
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., Harvard University
Historical Theology
718-817-3242 | rdavis32@fordham.edu

George Demacopoulos, Professor
Fr. John Meyendorff and Patterson Family Chair of Orthodox Christian Studies
Ph.D., University of North Carolina
Historical Theology; Early, Medieval, and
Byzantine Christianity

718-817-3252 | demacopoulos@fordham.edu

Benjamin Dunning, Professor
PhD, Harvard University
New Testament and Early Christianity, Christianity in Late Antiquity, Early Christian Scriptural Hermeneutics,
Critical Theory and the Study of Religion

212-636-6383 | dunning@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article (1) | Inside Fordham article (2)

Emanuel Fiano, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Duke University
Syriac Christianity
718-817-3240 | efiano@fordham.edu

Leo Guardado, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Systematic theology, peace studies, liberation theology, Latina/o religious experience
lguardado@fordham.edu

Sarit Kattan Gribetz, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Princeton University
Ancient Judaism, Rabbinic Literature, Jewish-Christian Relations
skattangribetz@fordham.edu

Jeannine Hill Fletcher, Professor
Th.D., Harvard Divinity School
Systematic Theology, Religious Pluralism
718-817-3256 | hillfletche@fordham.edu

Bradford E. Hinze, Professor, Karl Rahner Chair in Theology
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Systematic Theology, Fundamental Theology, Ecclesiology
718-817-3364 | bhinze@fordham.edu

Christine Firer Hinze, Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Christian Social and Economic Ethics; Catholic Social Teaching and Ethics; Women, Family, and Work
718-817-3363 | hinze@fordham.edu

Karina Martin Hogan, Associate Professor
Lincoln Center Campus
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Biblical Studies and Ancient Judaism
212-636-7675 | kahogan@fordham.edu

J. Patrick Hornbeck II, Professor
Chair
D. Phil., Oxford University
Historical Theology; Late Medieval and Early Modern Christianity; Contemporary U.S. Roman Catholicism
718-817-3240 | hornbeck@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article (1) | Inside Fordham article (2)

Judith M. Kubicki, CSSF, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Catholic University of America
Systematic Theology, Sacramental Theology,
Liturgical Theology

718-817-3262 | kubicki@fordham.edu

Kathryn Kueny, Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Islamic Studies
212-636-7143 | kueny@fordham.edu

Michael E. Lee, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Systematic Theology, Soteriology, Spirituality, Latin American and Latino/a Theology
718-817-3259 | fmilee@fordham.edu

Joseph T. Lienhard, SJ, Professor
Dr. Theol Habil., Freiburg
Historical Theology; Patristics; Origen, Augustine Studies
718-817-3209 | lienhard@fordham.edu

Thomas Massaro, SJ
Ph.D., Emory University
Ethics, Catholic Social Teaching, Spirituality of Social Justice and Peacemaking
718-817-4173 I tmassaro@fordham.edu

Bryan N. Massingale, Professor
James and Nancy Buckman Chair in Applied Christian Ethics
S.T.D., Academia Alphonsianum
Ethics
718-817-3369| bmassingale@fordham.edu

Michael C. McCarthy, SJ, Associate Professor and Vice President for Mission Integration and Planning
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Historical Theology
mmccarthysj@fordham.edu

James McCartin, Associate Professor and Director, Center on Religion and Culture
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
U.S. Catholic history; American religious history; cultural history of religion; history of spirituality
212-636-7492 | jmccartin1@fordham.edu

Brenna Moore, Associate Professor
Rose Hill Campus
Th.D., Harvard Divinity School
Historical Theology
718-817-4762 | brmoore@fordham.edu

Harry P. Nasuti, Professor
Ph.D., Yale University
Biblical Studies, Old Testament
718-817-3362 | nasuti@fordham.edu

Aristotle Papanikolaou, Professor, Archbishop Demetrios Chair in Orthodox Theology and Culture
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Systematic Theology, Eastern Orthodox Theology, Trinitarian Theology, Political Theology
212-636-6249 | papanikolaou@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article

Michael Peppard, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Yale University
New Testament, Early Christian Studies, Religion and Public Life
718-817-3248 | mpeppard@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article

Kathryn Reklis, Associate Professor
Associate Chair for Graduate Studies
Ph.D., Yale University
Historical, Modern Protestantism
718-817-3258 | kreklis@fordham.edu

Thomas Scirghi, SJ, Associate Professor
Th.D., Boston University
Systematic Theology
718-817-3249 | scirghi@fordham.edu

John Seitz, Associate Professor
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., Harvard University
History of Modern Christianity, American Religions, Catholic Studies, and Method and Theory in the Study of Religion
212-636-6398 | jseitz@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article

Larry L. Welborn, Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Biblical Studies, Pauline Epistles, Apostolic Fathers
718-817-3250 | welborn@fordham.edu

Christiana Zenner, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Yale University
Theology, Science, and Ethics; Ecology and Environmental Studies; Moral Theology
212-636-6279 | czenner2@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article

Other Faculty

Rev. Dr. John Behr, Distinguished Lecturer

John Denniston, Senior Lecturer
Ph.D., Fordham University
Science, Technology and Faith; Eschatology
New Testament Themes
718-817-3257 | jhndenniston0@gmail.com

Muhammad Faruque, Ames Postdoctoral Fellow
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
mfaruque@fordham.edu

Craig A. Ford, Jr., Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow
Ph.D., Boston College
Theological Ethics
cford12@fordham.edu

Joshua Schapiro, Senior Lecturer
Ph.D., Harvard University
Asian Religions
jschapiro@fordham.edu

Jason Steidl, Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow
Ph.D., Fordham University
Systematic Theology
jsteidl@fordham.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Bartholomew J. Collopy, Ph.D.
Rev. Dr. Richard J. Dillon, SSL
James T. Fisher
Elizabeth A. Johnson, C.S.J.
Rev. Dr. Donald J. Moore, S.J.
Rev. Msgr. Thomas J. Shelley, Ph.D.
Terrence W. Tilley, Ph.D.
Richard R. Viladesau, S.T.D.