Faculty

Fordham’s distinguished faculty leads the field of theology in scholarly research, publishing, teaching, and service. Collectively, the faculty possesses a breadth and diversity of knowledge and expertise that spans countless methods and topics of theological inquiry.

Barbara Andolsen, James E. Buckman Esq. Chair
in Applied Christian Ethics
PhD, Vanderbilt University
Christian Ethics
718-817-3361 | andolsen@fordham.edu

Mary Callaway, Associate Professor
PhD, Columbia University
Biblical Studies, Old Testament
718-817-3255 | callaway@fordham.edu

Charles C. Camosy, Associate Professor
PhD, University of Notre Dame
Christian Ethics
718-817-3207 | camosy@fordham.edu

Robert G. Davis, Assistant Professor
PhD, Harvard University
Historical Theology
718-817-3242 | rdavis32@fordham.edu

George Demacopoulos, Fr. John Meyendorff & Patterson Family Chair of Orthodox Christian Studies
PhD, University of North Carolina
Historical Theology; Early, Medieval, and
Byzantine Christianity

718-817-3252 | demacopoulos@fordham.edu

Benjamin Dunning, Professor
PhD, Harvard University
New Testament and Early Christianity, Christianity in Late Antiquity, Early Christian Scriptural Hermeneutics,
Critical Theory and the Study of Religion

212-636-6383 | dunning@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article (1) | Inside Fordham article (2)

Emanuel Fiano, Instructor
Syriac Christianity
718-817-3240 | efiano@fordham.edu

James T. Fisher, Professor
PhD, Rutgers University
Historical Theology
212-636-7698 | jafisher@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article

Jeannine Hill Fletcher, Professor
ThD, Harvard Divinity School
Systematic Theology, Religious Pluralism
718-817-3256 | hillfletche@fordham.edu

Sarit Kattan Gribetz, Assistant Professor
PhD, Princeton University
Ancient Judaism, Rabbinic Literature, Jewish-Christian Relations
skattangribetz@fordham.edu

Bradford E. Hinze, Professor, Karl Rahner Chair in Theology
PhD, University of Chicago
Systematic Theology, Fundamental Theology, Ecclesiology
718-817-3364 | bhinze@fordham.edu

Christine Firer Hinze, Professor
PhD, University of Chicago
Christian Social and Economic Ethics; Catholic Social Teaching and Ethics; Women, Family, and Work
718-817-3363 | hinze@fordham.edu

Karina Martin Hogan, Associate Professor
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies
Lincoln Center Campus
PhD, University of Chicago
Biblical Theology, Hebrew Bible Theology
212-636-7675 | kahogan@fordham.edu

J. Patrick Hornbeck II, Associate Professor
Chair
D Phil, Oxford University
Historical Theology; Late Medieval and Early Modern Christianity; Contemporary U.S. Roman Catholicism
718-817-3240 | hornbeck@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article (1) | Inside Fordham article (2)

Elizabeth A. Johnson, CSJ, Distinguished Professor
PhD, Catholic University of America
Systematic Theology, Feminist Theology
718-817-3247 | ejohnson@fordham.edu

Judith M. Kubicki, CSSF, Associate Professor
PhD, Catholic University of America
Systematic Theology, Sacramental Theology,
Liturgical Theology

718-817-3262 | kubicki@fordham.edu

Kathryn Kueny, Professor
Director of the Religious Studies Program -
Lincoln Center
PhD, University of Chicago
212-636-7143 | kueny@fordham.edu

Michael E. Lee, Associate Professor
PhD, University of Notre Dame
Systematic Theology, Soteriology, Spirituality, Latin American and Latino/a Theology
718-817-3259 | fmilee@fordham.edu

Joseph T. Lienhard, SJ, Professor
Dr. Theol Habil., Freiburg
Historical Theology; Patristics; Origen, Augustine Studies
718-817-3209 | lienhard@fordham.edu

Bryan Massingale, Professor
STD, Academia Alphonsianum
Ethics
718-817-3240| bmassingale@fordham.edu

Michael C. McCarthy, SJ, Associate Professor and Vice President for Mission Integration and Planning
PhD, University of Notre Dame
Historical Theology
mmccarthysj@fordham.edu

James McCartin, Associate Professor and Director, Center on Religion and Culture
PhD, University of Notre Dame
U.S. Catholic history; American religious history; cultural history of religion; history of spirituality
212-636-7492 | jmccartin1@fordham.edu

Brenna Moore, Associate Professor
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies
Rose Hill Campus
ThD, Harvard Divinity School
Historical Theology
718-817-4762 | brmoore@fordham.edu

Harry P. Nasuti, Professor
PhD, Yale University
Biblical Studies, Old Testament
718-817-3362 | nasuti@fordham.edu

Aristotle Papanikolaou, Archbishop Demetrios Chair in Orthodox Theology and Culture
PhD, University of Chicago
Systematic Theology, Eastern Orthodox Theology, Trinitarian Theology, Political Theology
212-636-6249 | papanikolaou@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article

Christiana Peppard, Assistant Professor
PhD, Yale University
Theology, Science, and Ethics; Ecology and Environmental Studies; Moral Theology
212-636-6279 | cpeppard@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article

Michael Peppard, Associate Professor
PhD, Yale University
New Testament, Early Christian Studies, Religion and Public Life
718-817-3248 | mpeppard@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article

Kathryn Reklis, Assistant Professor
PhD, Yale University
Historical, Modern Protestantism
718-817-3258 | kreklis@fordham.edu

Thomas Scirghi, SJ, Associate Professor
ThD, Boston University
Systematic Theology
718-817-3249 | scirghi@fordham.edu

John Seitz, Associate Professor
PhD, Harvard University
History of Modern Christianity, American Religions, Catholic Studies, and Method and Theory in the Study of Religion
212-636-6398 | jseitz@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article

Terrence W. Tilley, Avery Cardinal Dulles, SJ Professor of Catholic Theology
PhD, Graduate Theological Union
Philosophy of Religion, Systematic Theology
718-817-3240 | ttilley@fordham.edu
Inside Fordham article (1) | Inside Fordham article (2)

Richard R. Viladesau, Professor
STD, Pontifical Gregorian University
Stematic Fundamental Theology, Fundamental Theology, Ecclesiology, Revelation, Hermeneutics,
Theological Aesthetics

718-817-3253 | viladesau@fordham.edu

Larry L. Welborn, Professor
PhD, Vanderbilt University
Biblical Studies, Pauline Epistles, Apostolic Fathers
718-817-3250 | welborn@fordham.edu

Other Faculty

Rev. Dr. John Behr, Distinguished Lecturer

John Denniston, Senior Lecturer
PhD, Fordham University
Science, Technology and Faith; Eschatology;
New Testament Themes
718-817-3257 | jhndenniston0@gmail.com

Joshua Schapiro, Senior  Lecturer
PhD Harvard University
jschapiro@fordham.edu

Allan Georgia, Post-doc Teaching Fellow
PhD Fordham University
ageorgia@fordham.edu

Jonathan Sozek, Post-doc Teaching Fellow
PhD Brown University
jonathan_sozek@alumni.brown.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Bartholomew J. Collopy, PhD
Rev. Dr. Richard J. Dillon, SSL
Rev. Dr. Donald J. Moore, SJ
Rev. Msgr. Thomas J. Shelley, PhD