Communication and Media Studies Department Alumni and Friends

A degree in CMS prepares students to be leaders in a variety of media industries, and our alumni have risen to great heights in journalism, marketing, and media production. We encourage our alumni to stay involved by following us on Facebook and Twitter, mentoring current undergraduates, and returning to campus to speak with students.

For more information on getting involved, contact Dr. Beth Knobel, faculty alumni liaison.

Notable Alumni

Louis Boccardi, 1958, former president and chief executive officer, The Associated Press

Mike Breen, 1983, play-by-play announcer for the “NBA on ABC,” lead announcer for New York Knicks games on MSG Network, and an announcer for the NBA on ESPN. He previously called NFL games for NBC and Fox, and has worked as a commentator at five Olympic Games.

Lynette Harrison Brubaker, 1989, partner and chief marketing officer at Lividini & Co., a $200 million retail strategy and branding company; formerly publisher, InStyle Magazine, and VP and publisher, Women’s Wear Daily

Paul Brubaker, 1989, state director and press secretary, Senator Robert Menendez (D-NJ)

Jack Curry, 1986, YES Network Analyst, Former New York Times reporter, co-author with Yankee great Derek Jeter of the book Life You Imagine: Life Lessons for Achieving Your Dreams

Joe DeLessio, 2006, New York Magazine

Pete Fornatale, 1967, legendary New York disk jockey

Sergio Flores, 1987, managing editor, news service photos, The New York Times

Alice Gainer, 2004, anchor and reporter, WCBS TV and its sister station WLNY, New York

Anthony Giglio, 1989, wine journalist, columnist for Details, author of 10 books, including three editions of the annual Food and Wine Magazine Wine Guide

Richard Hake, 1991, news host and reporter, New York Public Radio

Michael Kay, 1984, play-by-play announcer for the New York Yankees, host of “CenterStage” on YES Network, host of “The Michael Kay Show” on ESPN Radio (simulcast on YES Network)

Paul LaRosa, 1975, Emmy-winning producer for CBS News’ 48 Hours, author of six works of non-fiction, including the memoir Leaving Story Avenue, which includes a chapter on his years at Fordham

Amy O’Leary, 2000, deputy editor for digital operations, The New York Times

Thomas Maier, 1978, award-winning investigative reporter, Newsday, and author of several books, including Masters of Sex: The Life and Times of William Masters and Virginia Johnson, the Couple Who Taught America How to Love, recently made into a series by Showtime

Lori Majewski, 1993, founder, Teen People, author of Mad World: An Oral History of New Wave Artists and Songs That Defined the 1980s

JP Mangalindan, 2006, Fortune

Connell McShane, 1999,  radio news anchor Imus in the Morning, TV news anchor Fox Business Network

Tony Reali, 2000, host of ESPN’s “Around the Horn,” contributor, “Good Morning America”

Andre Rodriguez, 1985, north bureau chief, CBS News

Ryan Ruocco, 2008, host of Stephen A. Smith & Ryan Ruocco on ESPN Radio, play-by-play announcer for the New York Nets, and host of “This Week in Football” on YES Network

Cara Lynn Shultz, 1998, author of the young adult novels Spellbound and Spellcaster

Loretta Tofani, 1975, Pulitzer Prize winning journalist

Julianne Welby, 1993, senior editor, New York Public Radio