GRE Faculty

Educating in Faith for Solidarity, Service, and Justice

In 1959, a small group of Jesuits at Fordham founded the Graduate School of Religion and Religious Education. Having read the signs of the times, they reframed religious education and pastoral ministry with an innovative approach and an adaptive structure that inspire and inform the work of our faculty to this day.

Core Faculty

C. Colt Anderson, Ph.D.

Professor of Church History
Keating Hall Room 303M
coltanderson@fordham.edu

Anderson from GRE

Thomas Beaudoin, Ph.D.

Professor of Religion
Keating Hall Room 303H
tbeaudoin@fordham.edu

Professor Thomas Beaudoin

Kirk A. Bingaman, Ph.D.

Professor of Pastoral Mental Health Counseling
Keating Hall Room 303E
bingaman@fordham.edu

 

Kirk Bingaman

Lisa Cataldo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Pastoral Mental Health Counseling
Keating Hall Room 303D
lcataldo@fordham.edu

Professor Lisa Cataldo

Faustino M. Cruz, M.Div., Ph.D.

Dean
Professor of Practical Theology
Keating Hall Room 303
fcruz16@fordham.edu

Dean Faustino (Tito) Cruz

Rachelle Green, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Practical Theology and Education
Keating Hall Room 303L
rgreen36@fordham.edu

Rachelle Green from GRE

 Z. George Hong, Ph.D.

Professor
Cunniffe House 219
Zhong4@fordham.edu

George Hong, CRO

Harold D. Horell, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Religious Education
Keating Hall Room 303J
horell@fordham.edu

Professor Harold H. Horell

Shannon M. McAlister, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Spirituality
Keating Hall Room 303J
smcalister@fordham.edu

Professor Shannon M. McAlister

Francis X. McAloon, SJ, Ph.D. 

Director, Doctor of Ministry Program

Associate Professor of Spirituality
Keating Hall Room 303G
fmcaloon@fordham.edu

McAloon from GRE

Mary Beth Werdel, Ph.D. 

Director, Pastoral Mental Health Counseling Program
Associate Professor of Pastoral Mental Health Counseling
Keating Hall Room 303F
mwerdel@fordham.edu

Dr. Mary Beth Werdel

Part-Time Faculty

Charles Ballard, Ph.D.
Scripture

Maria Tattu Bowen, Ph.D.
Spiritual Direction-Supervision

Giovanna Czander, Ph.D.
Scripture

Alexandria Egler, Ph.D.
Religious Education

Barbara Hernandez, PhD.
Pastoral Mental Health Counseling

Barbara Kapetanakes, Psy.D.
Pastoral Mental Health Counseling

Luz Marina Diaz Mancebo, Ph.D.
Spirituality

Joseph Petriello, Ph.D.
Religious Education

Donna Shannon, Ph.D.
Pastoral Mental Health Counseling

Cody Sanders, Ph.D.
Pastoral Care

Chad Thralls, Ph.D.
Spirituality

Valerie Torres, Ph.D.
Religious Education

Emeritus Faculty

John Elias, Ed.D.
Professor Emeritus of Religious Education