Skip to main content

Sperber Prize

The Sperber Prize is given in honor of Ann M. Sperber, the author of the excellent biography of Edward R. Murrow, Murrow: His Life and Times (Fordham University Press). The book received numerous awards for its meticulous research and finely crafted writing and was a finalist in 1987 for the Pulitzer Prize. Through the generous support of Ann’s mother, Lisa, the prize was established to promote and encourage other outstanding biographies and memoirs related to the field of print and electronic journalism.

2022 Winners Announced!

Congratulations to Elizabeth Becker, winner of the 2022 Sperber Prize.  Becker, who covered Cambodia for the Washington Post, was awarded the Sperber Prize for her biography You Don’t Belong Here: How Three Women Rewrote the Story of War (Public Affairs, 2022).

The Sperber Prize Committee also awarded former CBS News and NBC News correspondent and anchor Marvin Kalb with a certificate of achievement for his distinguished career in journalism and two memoirs: Assignment Russia: Becoming a Foreign Correspondent in the Crucible of the Cold War, (Brookings, 2022) and The Year I Was Peter the Great, (Brookings, 2018).

Becker and Kalb were honored on Nov. 7 at a ceremony at Fordham’s Lincoln Center campus.

The winners were chosen from five biographies and one memoir which were the finalists for the Sperber Book Prize, administered by Fordham University.

Click here to read the full article by Fordham News about the winners.


To Apply

The Sperber Prize Committee is currently considering books with 2022 copyright dates for the 2023 Sperber Book Prize.

Please contact Dr. Beth Knobel for details on the application.
Department of Communication and Media Studies, Fordham University
45 Columbus Ave. NY, NY, 10023
Phone: 718-817- 5041
Email: [email protected]

Want more? Then please listen to The Sperber Podcasts which offer deeper insights into the authors and their works. To listen, click here!