Skip to main content

CMS Faculty and Staff

Members of the Communication and Media Studies department teach, research, and publish in virtually every field of Media Studies. Staff are available to also support student needs and you can find contact for all CMS personnel here.

A-E

Amy Aronson
Professor and Chair
amaronson@fordham.edu
Martino 701
Ph.D., Columbia University
Areas of Interest: Media Studies, Magazines, Feminity, Masculinity

Jesse Baldwin-Philippi
Associate Professor
jphilippi@fordham.edu
FMH 434
Ph.D., Northwestern University
Areas of Interest: Civic Participation, Citizenship, Social Media

Heidi C. Bordogna
Lecturer
Areas of Interest: Film/TV Production, Screenwriting, Media Theory

Christopher Brandt
Adjunct
MFA, Sarah Lawrence College
Areas of Interest: Poetry, Theatre, Political history

Eli Bromberg
Adjunct
Ph.D. English, UMass Amherst
Areas of Interest: Jewish American popular culture, sexual antisemitism, media studies

Hopeton Campbell
Director of Walsh Media Lab
FMH 317
M.A., Fordham University

Jennifer Clark
Associate Chair Rose Hill, Assistant Professor
djeclark@fordham.edu
Martino 710
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Areas of Interest: Feminist Television Studies, Celebrity Cultures, and Film and Television Production Studies

Cornelia Connors
Adjunct
Areas of Interest: Communications and Public relations

Turner Cowles
Adjunct
MS Journalism, Columbia University
Area of Interest: Video production, journalism, reporting

Gregory Donovan
Associate Professor
gdonovan4@fordham.edu
Martino 704
Ph.D., City University of New York
Areas of Interest: Digital Geography, Social Justice, Participatory Research and Design

F-K

Ashar Foley
Lecturer
Areas of Interest: Films/TV, Media Theory, Communication

Lewis Freeman
Senior Lecturer
lefreeman@fordham.edu
FMH 439
Areas of Interest: Children & Media, Social Awareness, Social Justice

David Hawkins
Lecturer
Areas of Interest: Journalism, New Media, Ethics

Arthur Hayes
Associate Professor
ahayes@fordham.edu
FMH 437
J.D., Quinnipiac University
Areas of Interest: Press Criticism and Media Ethics/Law; First Amendment

Matthew Hockenberry
Assistant Professor
mhockenberry@fordham.edu
FMH 430
PhD in Media, Culture, and Communication from New York University
Areas of Interest: Media History, Media Industries, Logistics, Infrastructure, and Mobile Media

James Jennewein
Lecturer
Areas of Interest: Films and TV, Screenwriting, TV Drama

Ashley Jones
Adjunct
Ph.D Candidate, MA, MS.
Areas of Interest: Gaming studies, digital cultures, feminist theory, queer theory

Diana Kamin
Advanced Lecturer
PhD, Media, Culture, and Communication, New York University
Areas of Interest: Ethics and policy, visual culture, knowledge production and the public sphere

Mathias Klang
Associate Professor
mklang@fordham.edu
FMH 438
Ph.D., University of Göteborg (Sweden)
Areas of Interest: Digital Activism, Privacy & Surveillance, Digital Rights

Catherine Katsafouros
Personal Website
Advanced Lecturer, 'Program Head for New Media and Digital Design
FMH 300
MFA in Studio Art, Stony Brook University

Beth Knobel
PMMA Graduate Director, Associate Professor
knobel@fordham.edu
FMH 436A
Ph.D., MPP, Harvard University
Areas of Interest: Journalism, Watchdog Journalism, TV Production

Emily Krebs
Assistant Professor
ekrebs4@fordham.edu
PhD., Utah University
Areas of Interest: Disability Justice, Mad Studies, Critical Suicidology

Olga Kopenkina
Adjunct
M.A., Bard College
Areas of Interest: Feminist and queer studies and sociopolitical activist practice in art

L-Z

Dee LaDuke
Adjunct
Areas of Interest: Sitcom writing, TV, production, writing

Nick Leshi
Adjunct
M.A. Public Communication, Fordham University
Areas of Interest: Public relations, crisis communication, media relations

Paul Levinson
Professor
levinson.paul@gmail.com
FMH 453
Ph.D., New York University
Areas of Interest: Politics in Media, Popular Culture, Media Ethics

Brandy Monk-Payton
Assistant Professor
bmonkpayton@fordham.edu
FMH 435
Ph.D., Brown University
Areas of Interest: Black Film and Media Cultures, Television Studies, Celebrity

Jennifer Moorman
Assistant Professor
jmoorman@fordham.edu
FMH 451
Ph.D., UCLA
Areas of Interest: Gender, Sexuality, Queer Theory, Film/TV

Sharif Mowlabocus
Associate Chair Lincoln Center, Associate Professor
smowlabocus@fordham.edu
Martino 717
Ph.D., University of Sussex
Areas of Interest: Sexuality and Media Studies, Identity

Michelle O'Dwyer
Administrator, PMMA, McGannon
FMH 430

Michele Prettyman
Assistant Professor
mprettyman@fordham.edu
FMH 430
MA and PhD from Georgia State University
Areas of Interest: Race and Visual Aesthetics, Narrative, Black Cinema

Claudia Rivera
Senior Executive Secretary
Martino 702

Margaret Schwartz
Associate Professor
bmaschwartz@fordham.edu
Martino 703
Ph.D., University of Iowa
Areas of Interest: Feminism, Embodiment, Communication Ethics.

Henry Sheinkopf
Adjunct
Ph.D., CUNY
Areas of Interest: Religion and politics, PR, media exposure

James Shearer
Adjunct
Areas of Interest: Broadcast media, producer, content creation

Lance Strate
Professor
strate@fordham.edu
FMH 434a
Ph.D., New York University
Areas of Interest: Media Ecology, Tech., Popular Culture

Marie Trombetta
Senior Secretary
FMH 430

Ralph Vacca
Assistant Professor
rvacca2@fordham.edu
Martino 716
Ph.D., New York University
Areas of Interest: Mental Health, Data Literacy, Participatory Design

Kara Van Cleaf
Lecturer
kvancleaf@fordham.edu
704 Martino Hall
PhD in Sociology from The Graduate Center of the CIty University of New York
Areas of Interest: Motherhood, Fashion, Feminism

Chris Vicari
Educational Technologist
Martino 709
Areas of Interest: Games for change, digital narrative, educational technology

Gerry Wagschal
Adjunct
wagschal@fordham.edu
JD Fordham Law
Areas of Interest: Production, journalism, reporting

Tim Wood
Assistant Professor
twood12@fordham.edu
FMH 452
Ph.D., New York University
Areas of Interest: Promotional Culture, Corporate Political Advocacy

Qun Wang
Assistant Professor
qunwang@fordham.edu
FMH 454
PhD in Communication, Information, and Media, Rutgers University
Areas of Interest: Journalism, Global Media, Technology