Fordham Francis Index

Category Stock

Fordham’s Pope Francis Global Poverty Index, also known as the Fordham Francis Index (FFI), was launched in 2016. The Fordham Francis Index (FFI) is a response to Pope Francis’ call for a simple yet broad measure of poverty and wellbeing. The FFI is comprised of seven primary indicators which are broad enough to encompass different measures of poverty. The seven primary indicators are organized and aggregated into two main categories. What is very unique to this index is the inclusion of measures of spiritual wellbeing.

Primary Indicators

Pope Francis identified 7 primary indicators that measure the human person’s wellbeing. Selection of these wellbeing indicators took into consideration the availability of data for many countries, the credibility of the data source, and the breadth of its measure. These 7 primary indicators are organized into two categories: Material Wellbeing and Spiritual Wellbeing.

IPED Material Wellbeing

Material Wellbeing

  • Water – the percentage of a population using an improved drinking water (source: WHO)
  • Food - the prevalence of undernourishment (source: FAO)
  • Housing - measure of access to improved sanitation facilities (source: UN Habitat)
  • Employment – unemployment rate (source: World Bank)

IPED Spiritual Wellbeing

Spiritual Wellbeing

  • Education - Adult literacy rates (source: UNESCO)
  • Gender equity - Youth Gender Parity Index1 (source: UNESCO)
  • Religious freedom – Government Restrictions Index (source: Pew Research Center)

1The parity index is a ratio of female youth literacy rates to male youth literacy rates.

A copy of the FFI Report can be downloaded through this link: