PCS Political Science

Political Science majors at Fordham examine how societies make collective decisions through politics and government. As a student, you’ll contemplate the same questions all political scientists ask: What is justice? Why do nations go to war? Why do people vote?

The political science department is organized into four subfields:

Undergraduate majors must take at least one course in three of the four fields:

  • Political Theory
  • Comparative Politics
  • International Politics
  • American Politics


Many political science majors go on to law school, but others have found careers in government agencies, news organizations, and in the private sector. Still others decide to pursue graduate study in political science, such as Fordham’s master’s program in Elections and Campaign Management, which provides another route to a career in politics.

The bachelor’s degree program in political science is available at the Rose Hill and Lincoln Center campuses.

Visit the Political Science program page to learn more.